Home of the Rangers Mural

School of Arts & Sciences

 
 
  

 

Heartland Best Registration Form

National BEST

2018 Schedule of Events

Kickoff: 
Saturday, September 15, 2018

Practice Day: 
Saturday, October 13, 2018

Game Day: 
Saturday, October 27, 2018

What is BEST Robotics?

Boosting Engineering, Science & Technology

  • Founded in Texas in 1993 by two engineers
  • Student teams are guided by professional mentors and school coaches. 
  • BEST has expanded to ~900 participating schools and over 18,000 student participants in over a dozen states.
  • Students have six weeks to design, develop, build and test a robot that can outperform their competitors.
  • Each team receives identical kits of parts invluding items such as plywood, metal and splastic sheet stock, nuts, bolts, screws, tapes, glue, pvc pipe and fittings, motors and servos. 
  • ​Winning teams from each Hub compete at the Regional competitions.  (Texas BEST,  Northern Plains BEST,  South’s BEST, Frontier Trails BEST, Denver BEST) 

Contacts

Dr. Steve Maier, Hub Director
580-327-8562
sjmaier@nwosu.edu

Dr. Jenny Sattler, Kit Committee Chair
580-327-8568
jasattler@nwosu.edu

Dr. Mary Riegel, Game Committee Chair
580-327-8437
mriegel@nwosu.edu

Dr. Cindy Pfeifer-Hill, Sponsorship and Finance
580-327-8563
capfeifer-hill@nwosu.edu

Dr. Tim Maharry, BEST Award
580-327-8583
tjmaharry@nwosu.edu

Registration

Currently Registered Teams for 2018:

BRI Team # HL BEST Kit # School / Team Name HS/MS Coach Name Coach Email
0651 31

Alva Robotics

HS April Ridgway alvarobotics@hotmail.com
0652 34 Burlington HS Jennifer Newlin jnewlin@burlingtonschool.com
0653 30 Deer Creek HS Jeff Maxwell jeffreymaxwell@dcsok.org
0654 28 Lawton Academy of Arts & Sciences HS Michelle Smith michelle.smith@lawtonacademy.com
0655 35 Leedey HS Dan Holcomb ecodan7@gmail.com
0656 36 Marlow HS Tamra Fikes tfikes@marlow.k12.ok.us
0657 32 Mid America Tech Center I HS Jonathan Jacks jjacks@matech.edu
0658 33 Mid America Tech Center II HS Jonathan Jacks jjacks@matech.edu
0659 25 Perry HS Jeff Zagar jzagar@perry.k12.ok.us
0660 26 Pratt HS Heath Sharp heath.sharp@usd382.com
0661 38 Shattuck HS Melissa Fleming mfleming@shattuck.k12.ok.us
0662 27 Wynona HS David Powell muinteoir_555@hotmail.com

 

If you are a coach interested in registering to participate in this year's Heartland BEST Competition in Alva OK, please complete the registration form.

If you would like to participate with BEST Robotics, but Alva is further away than works for your school, consider competing with OK BEST in Oklahoma City. Information about OK BEST can be found at their website: www.OKBEST.org. You can also email John Robertson for more information at johndrobertson@gmail.com

 

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2018 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO