Home of the Rangers Mural

School of Arts & Sciences

Welcome to the School of Arts and Sciences

The School comprises seven departments: CommunicationEnglish, Foreign Language and HumanitiesFine ArtsMath and Computer ScienceNatural ScienceSocial Sciences; and Social Work.

The departments within the School offer a total of 15 majors and 20 minors at the undergraduate level and a Master of Arts in American Studies at the graduate level. Students with specialized interests may select from among a number of options within the majors and minors, and Teacher Education candidates may fulfill the subject-area requirements for secondary certification within five of the disciplines. The Social Work program is nationally accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

The School of Arts and Sciences also plays an integral role in providing Northwestern’s General Education program, the heart of any liberal arts education. As part of their general education experience, students take courses from most or all of the departments within the school. In this way the School directly supports the University’s General Education mission of providing a foundation for all degree programs and offering opportunities for students to develop competencies in critical thinking, leadership, and literacy. 

 

Contact Information

Dr. James Bell, PhD
Dean of Faculty
Ryerson Hall 211
Northwestern - Alva
(580) 327-8590
jlbell@nwosu.edu

Angelia Case, BA, MEd
Academic Projects Assistant/Media Specialist
Ryerson Hall 211
Northwestern - Alva
(580) 327-8577
arcase@nwosu.edu


Department Chair Contacts

Communication Chair
Tamara Brown

Assistant Professor of Speech
Vinson Hall 110
Northwestern-Alva
(580) 327-8429
tlbrown@nwosu.edu

English, Foreign Language & Humanities Chair
Dr. Kathryn Lane

Associate Professor of English
Vinson Hall 210
Northwestern - Alva
(580) 327-8470
kelane@nwosu.edu

Fine Arts Chair
Kimberly Weast, MFA

Professor of Theatre Arts
Chair, Department of Fine Arts
Fine Arts 330
Northwestern-Alva
(580) 327-8462
kkweast@nwosu.edu

Mathematics & Computer Science Chair
Dr. Tim Maharry

Professor of Mathematics 
Shockley Hall 214
Northwestern-Alva
(580) 327-8583
tjmaharry@nwosu.edu

Natural Science Chair
Dr. Steven Maier
Professor of Physics
Science Building 107-B
Northwestern-Alva
(580) 327-8562

sjmaier@nwosu.edu

Social Sciences Chair
Dr. Eric Schmaltz

Professor of History
Jesse Dunn 311
Northwestern-Alva
(580) 327-8526
ejschmaltz@nwosu.edu

Social Work Chair
Dr. Kylene Rehder, LCSW

Social Work Program Director and CWPEP Coordinator
Jesse Dunn 308
(580) 327-8135
kdrehder@nwosu.edu

Director of Library Services
Shannon Leaper

Assistant Professor
J.W. Martin Library, Alva Campus
(580) 327-8570
seleaper@nwosu.edu

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2020 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO