16 Selected for President’s Leadership Class

June 7, 2022

PLC 2022-23 Members

Image 1 Top Row (Left to Right): Hadley Bohlen, Kenzi Cronkhite, Jackson Feely
Bottom Row (Left to Right): Greyson Ioerger, JT Jones, William Kates

2022-23 PLC Members Continued

Image 2 Top Row (Left to Right): Jenna Maier, Aaron Mason, Jack McCoy
Bottom Row (Left to Right): Jaime Rocha, Aubry Rose, Evan Silva

2022-23 PLC Members Final

Image 3 Top Row (Left to Right): Maria Sosa, Megan Spray
Bottom Row (Left to Right): Kayli Stewart, Lindie Williams

Sixteen incoming freshmen at Northwestern Oklahoma State University have been selected for a year-long adventure as members of the President’s Leadership Class (PLC).

PLC is a leadership development program led by the university’s president. The program seeks to develop leadership skills in students who have compiled exemplary records of academic success and participation in high school activities. Graduates of the program are expected to assume leadership roles on campus during their time at Northwestern.

Northwestern’s incoming president, Dr. Bo Hannaford, will take the position on July 1, 2022, and will lead PLC.

“This will be my first trip as president, and I am excited that it is with this group of students,” Hannaford said. “These students have excelled in their high school careers and will continue to do so while at Northwestern.

“PLC is a great opportunity for students to learn about leadership qualities that will help them contribute to our society in the future. Their involvement in PLC will also give them the chance to meet other students before school starts in August, which helps students feel more comfortable in their freshman year.”

Students selected for this year’s President’s Leadership Class include:

  • Hadley Bohlen – Ringwood, Biology
  • Kenzi Cronkhite – Enid, Vocal Music Education
  • Jackson Feely – Alva, Pre-Engineering
  • Greyson Ioerger – Jet, Nursing
  • JT Jones – Thomas, Health and Sports Science Education
  • William Kates – Tuttle, Biology
  • Jenna Maier – Alva, Social Work
  • Aaron Mason – Alva, Mass Communication
  • Jack McCoy – Hillsdale, Biology
  • Jaime Rocha – Woodward, Computer Science
  • Aubry Rose – Alva, Early Childhood Education
  • Evan Silva – Ringwood, Computer Science
  • Maria Sosa – Laverne, Biology
  • Megan Spray – Sharon, Health and Sports Science Education
  • Kayli Stewart – Kiowa, Kansas, Biology
  • Lindie Williams  –  May, Biology

Selection to the PLC is through a competitive process including applications, letters of recommendation and an interview, which were held in person and through Zoom.    

The students will begin their year-long adventure with an evening of team building on July 21 and will then leave for Boston, Massachusetts, on July 22.

“Not only is this trip aimed at creating a bond between the students, but also showing students our nation’s history and respect for our country,” Hannaford said.

Activities during the four-day trip include walking the Freedom Trail, touring the New England Aquarium, experiencing a Duck Tour, and of course, a Boston Red Sox game at historic Fenway Park.

The first PLC class began in fall of 2001 with assistance from the Presidential Partners. In 2007, Presidential Partners was renamed The President’s Association. Moving toward a more long-term investment, the President’s Association was changed to the Northwestern Leadership Trust in 2020, which is an endowment program to better serve the needs of the students.

Class members participate in leadership activities and assist the president and staff in hosting dignitaries on campus and in selected recruitment activities.

Learn more about PLC at www.nwosu.edu/plc.


Erin Davis, University Relations Specialist

eedavis@nwosu.edu, 580-327-8480

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2024 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO