13 Selected as Northwestern Scholar Ambassadors

June 4, 2024

Thirteen Northwestern Oklahoma State University students have been selected as members of the Northwestern Scholar Ambassadors (NSA) for the 2024-2025 academic year.

NSA is a group of academically high achievers led by Ethan Sacket, student success coordinator and transfer student recruiter. Their stated goal is to look beyond themselves to discover opportunities to serve the campus and the Alva community.

In addition to working one hour a week with the university and conducting one personal service project, scholar ambassadors lead campus tours, foster community partnerships, and facilitate specific events like Freshman Orientation, Family Day and Ranger Preview.

“I am grateful these students have such an eagerness to invest their time and talent to positively impact others,” Sacket said. “I am excited for how each one of the 13 Ambassadors will personally grow in their servant leadership journey. We have a fruitful year ahead with this special group! I am confident our campus and community know they can always contact us with opportunities to lend a helping hand.”

Top Row (Left to Right): Alaina Pierce, Addie Hoeme, Cooper Frymire; Middle Row: (Left to Right): Averie Larson, Edna Garcia, Isabella Bouse; Bottom Row (Left to Right): Janie Rempel, Jack McCoy, Jaxyn Cloud

Students selected to this year’s NSA include: Isabella Bouse, sophomore psychology major from Woodward; Jaxyn Cloud, sophomore mass communication major from Enid; Kenzie Doane, senior biology major from Fairview; Cooper Frymire, senior health and sports science major from Thomas; Edna Garcia, junior psychology major from Beaver; Addie Hoeme, senior agriculture major from Preston, Kansas; Willem Johnson, junior health and sports science major from Enid; Teagen Koontz, sophomore chemistry major from Fairmont; Averie Larson, senior chemistry major from Corpus Christi, Texas; Jack McCoy, senior health and sports science major from Hillsdale; Tara Owen, senior mass communication major from Alva; Alaina Pierce, sophomore biology and chemistry major from Alva; and Janie Rempel, sophomore elementary education major from Forgan.

Top Row (Left to Right): Kenzie Doane, Teagen Koontz; Bottom Row (Left to Right): Tara Owen, Willem Johnson

Selection to the NSA is through a competitive process including applications, letters of recommendation and an interview.

“I’m extremely proud of our Northwestern Scholar Ambassador Program and the outstanding students who represent this organization and our university each year,” said Calleb Mosburg, dean of student affairs and enrollment management. “I’m excited for the 2024-2025 NSA class and know that they will continue to carry on a standard of outstanding leadership and service to the university and the community.”

NSA had its first meeting on April 23. The students will be volunteering with the summer Oklahoma Association of Student Councils BASIC leadership workshops in June and July and Camp Ranger Aug. 1-3. The students will attend a leadership retreat Aug. 8-10.


Sean J. Doherty, University Relations Specialist

sjdoherty@nwosu.edu | 580-327-8480

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2024 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO