Three Northwestern education seniors awarded Guthrie Scottish Rite Scholarship

September 13, 2018

2018 Guthrie Scottish Rite Scholarship Winners

Dr. James Bell (far left) and Dr. Martie Young (far right) recently awarded three students with the Guthrie Scottish Rite Scholarship. The recipients are (left to right) Jamie Barber-Sutherland, Ethan Kennedy and Tricia Franke, all senior education students at Northwestern.

Three Northwestern Oklahoma State University seniors were awarded the Guthrie Scottish Rite Scholarship given by the Guthrie Scottish Rite Charitable and Educational Foundation.

Those awarded this semester are Jamie Barber-Sutherland of Enid, elementary education; Tricia Franke of Covington, special education; and Ethan Kennedy of Watonga, health and sports science education.

Each semester the scholarships are awarded to teacher candidates who are completing their professional semester.

Dr. James Bell, associate vice president for academics and dean of faculty, and Dr. Martie Young, professor of education, presented the students their scholarship.

The Guthrie Scottish Rite Charitable and Educational Foundation works primarily with children with language and/or reading disorders. Recipients are chosen by members of the Teacher Education faculty who have reviewed all applications and voted for the candidate they felt was the best choice.

For more information on the Guthrie Scottish Rite scholarship or the Division of Education contact Dr. Christee Jenlink, associate dean of education and professor of education, at (580) 327-8450 or email


Erin Davis, University Relations Specialist; 580-327-8480

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2024 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO