Northwestern’s Red and Black Scroll Honor Society inducts 23 new members

April 2, 2019

Northwestern Oklahoma State University inducted 23 new members into the Red and Black Scroll Honor Society April 1 during a ceremony in the Student Center Wyatt Room.

Red & Black Society: Students who were inducted into the Red and Black Scroll Honor Society are (back row, left to right) Jacob Fuller, Siona Walsh, Garyn Batchelor, Bailie Gooch, Brittany Cirnigliaro, Damon Doss Jr. (middle row, left to right) Mikayla Carpenter, Mary Berntsen, Dezereè Sawyer, Lindsey Ball, Emma Sporleder (front row, left to right) sponsor Dr. Dena Walker, Jordan Harris, Chloe Nutley, Joseph Allotey, Michelle Willson, Ethan Sacket, and sponsor Dr. Sheila Brintnall. Not pictured are Benjamin Baker, McKenna Carlton, Peyton Lucas, Kenzie Mize, Caitlyn Pray, Wynter Standridge and Ryan Willingham. 

Northwestern Oklahoma State University inducted 23 new members into the Red and Black Scroll Honor Society April 1 during a ceremony in the Student Center Wyatt Room.

Red and Black Scroll recognizes outstanding scholarship and service among sophomore students at Northwestern. Requirements for membership include completion of 40-59 hours of college credit, a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0, participation in two or more campus organizations or activities, attendance at Northwestern for at least two semesters and non-failure of a college course.

Sponsors are Dr. Dena Walker, assistant professor of mathematics, and Dr. Sheila Brintnall, professor of mathematics.

This year’s inductees include Joseph Allotey of Accra, Ghana, biology major; Benjamin Baker of Kerrville, Texas, chemistry major; Lindsey Ball of Guthrie, biology major; Garyn Batchelor of Cheyenne, mathematics education major; Mary Berntsen of Conway Springs, Kansas, social science education major; McKenna Carlton of Lakewood, Colorado, nursing major; Mikayla Carpenter of Clinton, vocal music major; Brittany Cirnigliaro of Hudson, Florida, early childhood education; Damon Doss Jr. of Denver, Colorado, mathematics major; Jacob Fuller of Guthrie, biology major; Bailie Gooch of Stroud, health and sports science major; Jordan Harris of Enid, health and sports science education major; Peyton Lucas of Fairview, psychology major; Kenzie Mize of Fort Gibson, nursing major; Chloe Nutley of Elk City, mathematics major; Caitlyn Pray of Caldwell, Kansas, mass communication major; Ethan Sacket of Aline, business administration major; Dezereè Sawyer of Enid, accounting major; Emma Sporleder of Bristow, mass communication major; Wynter Standridge of Woodward, social work major; Siona Walsh of Forgan, biology major; Ryan Willingham of Reseda, California, psychology major; and Michelle Willson of Conway Springs, Kansas, mass communication major.

Red and Black Scroll officers were elected the same evening.  New officers are: Harris, president; Nutley, vice president; Allotey, secretary/treasurer; Willson, reporter; and Sacket, historian.


Erin Davis, University Relations Specialist; (580) 327-8480

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2019 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO