Home of the Rangers Mural

School of Arts & Sciences

NWOSU Artist-in-Residence Program

The Artist-in-Residence program in the Visual Arts program at Northwestern Oklahoma State University was established in January 2014 to invite emerging and established artists to the small rural community of Alva, Oklahoma. This program provides the gift of time to artists, allowing them the opportunity to create their works in a quiet environment, while also exposing the community to new and interesting ideas.

Artists are provided with housing and a large studio space in which to make their work, and will have the opportunity to participate in a First Friday Art Walk exhibition in downtown Alva.

The artists, in exchange, are requested to provide a workshop and artist talk for the community during their stay, as well as work with students in the visual arts program on a weekly basis.

Artists are responsible to provide their own transportation, food and material costs. The closest metropolitan area and airport is located in Wichita, Kansas.

To apply, send 10 images of recent work, a C.V., and a brief artist statement and description of how you'd like to use your time at NWOSU to: krlarson@nwosu.edu.  Preference given to artists with MA/MFAs and extensive exhibition records.

For more information on this program, or if you have any questions, please contact the director of the visual arts program, Kyle Larson, at (580) 327-8108 or krlarson@nwosu.edu

 

Past Residents

 

2017-2018

September 2017, Robert Camacho robertjcamacho.com
October 2017, Laura DeAngelis  -  lauralaniphoto.com
November 2017, Christine Aria  -  christinearia.com
January/February 2018, Stephanie Ramirez  -  stephaniecramirez.com
March/April 2018, Marianne Hoffmeister  -  cargocollective.com/mariannehoffmeister

 

2016-2017

October 2016, Britynn Davis  -  britynndavis.com
November 2016, Anna Valdez annavaldez.com
January/February 2017, Mandy Messina  -  mandymessina.com
March 2017, Joe Gegan  -  joegegan.com
April 2017, Kerry Cottle  -  kerrycottle.com

 

2015-2016

October/November 2015, Jackie Feng  -  jackiefeng.com
February/March 2016, Roya Amigh  -  royaamigh.com
April 2016, Gloria Shows gloriashows.com

 

2014-2015

September 2014, Kyle Larson  -  kyle-larson.com
October 2014, Radhika Prabhu  -  iamanvi.com
November 2014, Emily Dunlap  -  emilyrosedunlap.com
February 2015, Lauren Purje  -  laurenpurje.com
March 2015, Mathew Tom  -  mathewtom.com
April 2015, Randall Barnes  -  rs-barnes.com

 

2013-2014

February 2014, Peter Paul DePasquale 
March 2014, Elizabeth Gahon  -  elizabethgahan.com
April 2014, Caitlin Foley  -  caitlinfoley.net

For information on past NWOSU AIR events and exhibitions, go to:

NWOSU AIR Program 

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2018 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO