18 Selected for Northwestern's President’s Leadership Class

June 15, 2023

2023-24 PLC
Top Row (Left to Right): Flor Amador, Baylan Byrd, Chance Cash
Bottom Row (Left to Right): Jaxyn Cloud, Drake Daugherty, Cassidy Fitzgerald

2023-24 PLC Group 2
Top Row (Left to Right): Piper Gallagher, Riley Hensley, Teagan Koontz
Bottom Row (Left to Right): Lainey Morse, Alaina Pierce, Olivia Pride

2023-24 PLC Group 3
Top Row (Left to Right): Janie Rempel, Norah Scarbrough, Vianey Tena
Bottom Row (Left to Right): Daniel Voth, Zoe Walker, Triston White

Eighteen incoming freshmen at Northwestern Oklahoma State University have been selected for a year-long adventure as members of the President’s Leadership Class (PLC).

PLC is a leadership development program led by Dr. Bo Hannaford, university president. The program seeks to develop leadership skills in students who have compiled exemplary records of academic success and participation in high school activities. Graduates of the program are expected to assume leadership roles on campus during their time at Northwestern.

“We have exceptional students selected for PLC this year,” Hannaford said. “My family and I are excited to get to know this group better on our upcoming trip and look forward to learning how to work together as a team. We will spend the next year learning more about leadership, the communities we serve and how to get involved and make the best of their time here at Northwestern.”

Students selected for this year’s President’s Leadership Class include:

  • Flor Amador – Hooker
  • Baylan Byrd – Alex
  • Chance Cash – Beaver
  • Jaxyn Cloud – Seiling
  • Drake Daugherty – Covington-Douglas
  • Cassidy Fitzgerald – Enid
  • Piper Gallagher – Watonga
  • Riley Hensley – Cherokee
  • Teagan Koontz – Pioneer
  • Lainey Morse – Enid
  • Alaina Pierce – Alva
  • Olivia Pride – Arkansas City, Kansas
  • Janie Rempel – Forgan
  • Norah Scarbrough – Alva
  • Vianey Tena – Woodward
  • Daniel Voth  –  Enid
  • Zoe Walker –  Chisholm
  • Triston White –  Freedom

Selection to the PLC is through a competitive process including applications, letters of recommendation and an interview, which were held in person and through Zoom.    

The students will begin their year-long adventure with an evening of team building on July 21 and will then leave for San Antonio, Texas, on July 22.

Activities during the five-day trip include visiting the Alamo, touring AT&T Stadium -- home of the Dallas Cowboys, experiencing SeaWorld, and a Texas Rangers baseball game at Globe Life Field in Arlington.

The first PLC class began in the fall 2001 with assistance from the Presidential Partners. In 2007, Presidential Partners was renamed The President’s Association. Moving toward a more long-term investment, the President’s Association was changed to the Northwestern Leadership Trust in 2020, which is an endowment program to better serve the needs of the students.

Class members participate in leadership activities and assist the president and staff in hosting dignitaries on campus and in selected recruitment activities.

To learn more about this program, visit www.nwosu.edu/plc.


Erin Davis, University Relations Specialist
eedavis@nwosu.edu, (580) 327-8480

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2024 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO