Home of the Rangers Mural

John Barton Distinguished Teaching and Service Award

John Barton Distinguished Teaching and Service Award

The award carries an honorarium and a plaque, which will be presented to the winner at the NWOSU Faculty and Staff Recognition in November on the Alva campus.


  • The nominee must be a full time employee of Northwestern Oklahoma State University, with at least a one-half time teaching load.
  • The nominee must also exemplify distinguished teaching and administrative leadership.
  • Only one nomination may be submitted by an individual.

Provide your name and the name of person you'd like to nominate for this prestigious award and email it to the NWOSU Foundation at nwalumni@nwosu.edu or send a note to NWOSU Foundation, 709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717.

Past winners include:

2023 Dr. Aaron Mason
2022 Dr. Jen Oswald
2021 Dr. Dean Scarbrough
2020 Dr. Pat Thompson
2019 Dr. Ramona Bartlow
2018 Dr. Jennifer Page
2017 Dr. M. Cris Gordon
2016 Dr. Leslie Collins
2015 Dr. Mindi Clark
2014 Dr. Eric Schmaltz
2013 Dr. Kylene Rehder
2012 Dr. Steven Mackie
2011 Dr. Steve Maier
2010 Dr. Aaron Place
2009 Dr. Venkata Moorthy
2008 Dr. Tim Maharry
2007 Dr. Cynthia Pfeifer-Hill
2006 Dr. Mark Davis
2005 Tamara Brown
2004 Dr. Cheryl Evans
2003 Dr. Dorothy Day

Northwestern Oklahoma State University

709 Oklahoma Blvd., Alva, OK 73717
Phone: (580) 327-1700

© 2008-2024 Northwestern Oklahoma State
University. All Rights Reserved.

Mission Statement

Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.

Proud Member of RUSO