Two Northwestern women recognized for contributions to northwest Oklahoma

| More

Two Northwestern women recognized for contributions to northwest Oklahoma

March 11, 2011

Three women, including two employees of Northwestern Oklahoma State University, will be honored for their community contributions during the American Association of University Women’s (AAUW) Annual Recognition Ceremony and Dinner on Thursday, March 24, at 6:30 p.m. in the Student Center Ballroom.

Valarie Case, university relations specialist, was chosen as the Cultural Development Award nominee. She has been employed with Northwestern since 1989 and is highly involved in promoting and working with cultural activities in the area.

Dr. Deena Fisher, Northwestern-Woodward dean, was chosen for the Education Award. She has been employed by Northwestern since 1996. Fisher is very active in the Woodward community and serves on numerous committees.

Karen Armbruster will represent the Community Development Award. She has been in the field of extension education for 30 years, and for the last 10 years she has served as the Woods County Extension director in Alva.

These three women are in the running for the “Woman of the Year” award, which will be presented at the end of the ceremony.

Sheryl Lovelady will speak to AAUW members and reception attendees on "Great Women in Oklahoma History."

Lovelady currently is the Director of Women’s Leadership Programs at the Carl Albert Congressional Research and Studies Center at the University of Oklahoma. She coordinates civic education programs that address the historical under-representation of women in politics and public service, including the annual National Education for Women's Leadership program (N.E.W.).

Most recently, she served as communications director for the City of Tulsa, and began a media and public policy consulting firm that works with public and private sector clientele. She is a graduate of Leadership Tulsa and the US Department of Defense leadership program. She serves as president of the Gordon Cooper Technical Center Foundation and is on the Board of Directors of the Jasmine Moran Children’s Museum and the John Hope Franklin Center for Reconciliation.

Dinner ticket sales are available for the evening ceremony for $15.

To reserve a seat by Thursday, March 17, contact Natalie Miller, assistant certification officer and AAUW officer, at (580) 327-5048 or Carol Erikson, AAUW president, at (580) 327-1905.