Twenty-one to compete for Miss Cinderella title

| More

Twenty-one to compete for Miss Cinderella title

September 21, 2012

 Miss Cinderella 2012 contestants
Contestants for the 61st Anniversary of the Miss Cinderella Talent Show and Pageant at Northwestern Oklahoma State University are (front row, from left) Miss Waynoka, Jillian Whipple; Miss Alva, Alana Adams; Miss Shattuck, Kira Calhoun; Miss Fargo, Whitney Benson; Miss Buffalo, Shelby Waugh; Miss Cimarron, Emily Tydings; Miss Chisholm, Faith Ward; Miss Timberlake, Hayden Nickel; Miss Cherokee, Kelsey Miller; Miss Seiling, Veronique Pittman; (back row) Miss Mooreland, Alex Smith; Miss Freedom, Rebecca Eden; Miss Laverne, Ellen Halliburton; Miss Woodward, Julia Benbrook; Miss Ringwood, Amanda Schmidt; Miss Medford, Ariel Graham; Miss Midway, Brittany Gleason; Miss Ashland, Kaylyn Province; Miss Burlington, Katelyn Garvie; and Miss Tonkawa, Kelsie Kleinschmidt.  Not pictured is Miss South Barber, Micaela Kirkwood.  Miss Cinderella events take place Thursday, Oct. 11, and Friday, Oct. 12, in Herod Hall Auditorium.

Twenty-one women representing high schools in Oklahoma and Kansas were on the Northwestern Oklahoma State University campus Saturday for an orientation session in preparation for the 61st annual Miss Cinderella Pageant held as part of the school’s homecoming celebration.

Contestants and their sponsors met with the pageant committee to review all requirements and rules associated with the talent show on Oct. 11, the pageant itself on Oct. 12, and Northwestern’s homecoming parade on Saturday, Oct. 13.

Dr. Janet Cunningham, president, welcomed the contestants to campus.

Participants were assigned to jewel groups—Amethyst, Emerald, Ruby and Sapphire for judging—and had their photos taken for publicity purposes and a program. The committee covered rehearsals, judging criteria, wardrobe requirements and all other activities connected with the pageant.

The 2012 contestants and the schools they represent, listed by jewel group are:

Amethyst – Emily Tydings, Cimarron; Veronique Pittman, Seiling; Hayden Nickel, Timberlake; Rebecca Eden, Freedom; Shelby Waugh, Buffalo;

Emerald – Kelsey Miller, Cherokee; Ariel Graham, Medford; Micaela Kirkwood, South Barber (Kan.); Kaylyn Province, Ashland (Kan.); Kira Calhoun, Shattuck;

Sapphire – Brittany Gleason, Midway (Kan.); Kelsie Kleinschmidt, Tonkawa; Amanda Schmidt, Ringwood; Jillian Whipple, Waynoka; Julia Benbrook, Woodward;

Ruby – Ellen Halliburton, Laverne; Katelyn Garvie, Burlington; Alex Smith, Mooreland; Faith Ward, Chisholm; Whitney Benson, Fargo; Alana Adams, Alva.

Admission to either the Miss Cinderella Talent Show on Thursday, Oct. 11, or the Miss Cinderella Pageant on Friday, Oct. 12, is $9 each night for adults and $5 for students or $10 total with the purchase of a Homecoming button. Buttons will be available at the door on Talent Show night. Both events will be held in Herod Hall Auditorium. The button (with a value of $36) also is good for admission to the football game with Southeastern Oklahoma State University on Saturday, Oct. 13, at 3 p.m., at Ranger Field. Tickets at the gate will be $18.

Buttons, the main source of funding homecoming, may be purchased from Rialto, 516 Flynn; Radio Shack, 609 College; the Alva Chamber of Commerce, 502 Oklahoma Blvd., and the Northwestern Foundation and Alumni Office, all in Alva. Buttons also may be purchased through Karen Koehn, button sales chair, at (580) 327-0344 or

Button purchasers need to be aware that seating at events is on a first-come, first-served basis.