Spring Triathlon results announced

| More

Spring Triathlon results announced

April 22, 2009

Female College categoryLindsay Stewart and Crystal Herber, students at Northwestern Oklahoma State University, completed the Spring Triathlon on April 18. Stewart won the female college division with a time of 33:02:00, and Herber came in close behind finishing the race at 34:01:00.

 Female community categorySarah Bickerstaff won first place in the female community division during the Spring Triathlon on April 18 at Northwestern Oklahoma State University. Janet Sheik and Harriet Bickerstaff completed the race in second and third places, respectively.

Men community categoryHenry Bickerstaff won first place with Steve Tanio completing the race in second place in the male community division during the Spring Triathlon on April 18 at Northwestern Oklahoma State University.  Pearson teamJenny Bolz, Casey Bolz and Kim Pearson participated as part of the team division during the Spring Triathlon on April 18 at Northwestern Oklahoma. They completed the race in first place with a time of 33:50:00. The Nicki Chaffee Team, which included team members, (from left) Kacy Hibdon and Denise Reed, finished in second place at 40:34:00. Not pictured is Nicki Chaffee.

Twelve individuals participated in the Spring Triathlon at Northwestern Oklahoma State University in the J.R. Holder Wellness Center on April 18. There were two teams and six individuals who participated.

Participants were required to swim eight laps, ride five miles on a stationary bike and run one and a half miles on the treadmill. There were four divisions with an overall male and female winner.

Winners and categories are as follows:

TEAM DIVISION: first place – Kim Pearson Team with a time of 33:50:00. Team members were Kim Pearson, Casey Bolz and Jenny Bolz, Covington junior; second place – Nicki Chaffee Team with a time of 40:34:00. Team members were Nicki Chaffee, Denise Reed and Kacy Hibdon, Oklahoma City senior.

FEMALE COLLEGE DIVISION: first place – Lindsay Stewart, Alva senior; 33:02:00; second place – Crystal Herber, Alva junior; 34:01:00.

FEMALE COMMUNITY DIVISION: first place – Sarah Bickerstaff, 26:51:00; second place – Janet Sheik, 45:37:00; and third place – Harriet Bickerstaff, 48:03:00.

MEN’S COMMUNITY DIVISION: first place – Henry Bickerstaff, 27:18:00; second place – Steve Tanio, 28:39:00.


OVERALL MALE WINNER: Henry Bickerstaff.

“We are very proud of our member’s success with this individual and team challenge,” Lendi Gourley, assistant director of the Wellness Center, said.

“All the participants did great, and for a few of them, it was their first time to ever compete or at least do something of this nature.”

Contact Gourley at (580) 327-8109 or at ldgourley@nwosu.edu to become a member of the Wellness Center or with questions on summer events.