NWOSU Tobacco Free
Tobacco Free header
Alva / Current Students / Student Services / NWOSU Tobacco Free


President Janet Cunningham announced Northwestern would become tobacco-free effective July 1, 2012.  Northwestern Oklahoma State University (NWOSU) became a tobacco-free campus following an Executive Order issued by the Governor of the State of Oklahoma. 

The new policy prohibits the use of all tobacco products on all school-owned property 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The ban on tobacco use is part of Northwestern’s efforts to become a more healthy campus. The Northwestern tobacco-control program consists of prevention, cessation and policy.

Northwestern Oklahoma State University is working with the Major and Woods County Tobacco Free Coalition on implementing the tobacco-free campuses.

Northwestern Oklahoma State University is committed to providing its students, employees, and visitors a safe and healthy environment.

Thank you for making Northwestern a Tobacco-Free Community.

Formal ceremony to publicly adopt Tobacco Free Policies at Northwestern, June 25, 2012

| More
Contact Us

For more information on Northwestern Oklahoma State University tobacco use prevention efforts contact:

Calleb Mosburg (All Students & Faculty)
Dean of Student Affairs/Enrollment Management
Fine Arts 126
(580) 327-8415

Kaylyn Hansen (All Students & Faculty)
Director of Student Life and Counseling
Fine Arts 207
(580) 327-8439

Yolanda Creswell, Community Program Coordinator (Alva & Woodward)
(580) 748-2144
Woods County Coalition - (580) 327-2900

Garfield County Tobacco Free Coalition (Enid)
Angela Luthye
(580) 213-3168


Oklahoma Tobacco Helpline (All Students & Faculty)

1-800-QUIT NOW (784-8669)
1-800-793-1552 (Spanish)
1-877-777-6534 (Deaf or Hard of Hearing)
Hours of Operation: Monday - Sunday 7 a.m. - 2 a.m.