Thirteen chosen for President's Leadership Class at Northwestern

| More

Thirteen chosen for President's Leadership Class at Northwestern

May 23, 2012

Thirteen outstanding students have been selected to the 2012-13 President’s Leadership Class (PLC) at Northwestern Oklahoma State University.

The PLC is comprised of the most accomplished, promising and motivated incoming freshmen to Northwestern. It is designed to enhance the participant’s ability to effectively lead and foster a greater awareness of leadership roles in today’s society.

“We received a large number of outstanding applications for the President’s Leadership Class, making the task of selection very difficult,” said Dr. Janet Cunningham, university president. “Each of the students selected have strong records of academic achievement and involvement in school and community activities. I’m looking forward to them bringing this potential to Northwestern.”

The new members, their hometowns and proposed fields of study are: Ashley Watkins, Guthrie, nursing; Brady Fields, Seiling, pre-medicine; Chassidee Koehn, Waynoka, pre-physical therapy; Dylan Sander, Burkburnett, Texas, pre-medicine; Erin Hopkins, Fairview, mass communication; Jaden Crocker, Laverne, elementary education;
Joe Harris, Burkburnett, Texas, pre-law; Kamaree Lewis, Alva, pre-medicine; Layne Meriwether, Waynoka, pre-engineering; Molley Vap, Byron, pre-physical therapy; Molly Buzzard, Kellyville, pre-physical therapy; Morgan Biaggi, Dalhart, Texas, undecided; and Samantha Fenter, Tulsa, elementary education.

To be selected, applicants must submit academic records and two letters of recommendation and participate in an on-campus interview.

The program was established in 2001 with assistance from the President’s Association. Members each year participate in leadership activities and assist the president and her staff in hosting dignitaries on campus and in selected recruitment activities.

The first event on tap for the class is an all-expense paid trip to Boston Aug. 4-7 with Dr. Cunningham and other university leaders.