Teacher Education Committee

Alva / About Northwestern / Standing Committees / Teacher Education Committee

Teacher Education Committee

Ms. Christie Riley, Chair
Dr. Sheila Brintnall
Ms. Roxann Clark
Dr. Kathy Earnest
Dr. Steve Maier
Ms. Natalie Miller
Ms. Jennifer Oswald
Dr. Martie Young
Community - Ms. Mary Hamilton
Community - Ms. Tracy Shiever
Student - Elizabeth Mouser
Student - TBD

The Teacher Education Committee is elected by the teacher education faculty and recommended to the president for final approval. The Teacher Education Committee shall be made up of the following members: three (3) faculty, who are permanent members, the director of teacher education who serves as chairman, one (1) representative from secondary education and one (1) representative from elementary education. One of these representatives must be the director of student teaching. The four (4) remaining faculty members are selected for three (3) year terms as follows: one (1) representative from the education department at-large and three (3) representatives from the teaching fields. The two (2) student representatives, members of the Student Education Association, are junior or senior Teacher Education students (one elementary and one secondary). The general purpose of the Teacher Education Committee is to provide a program of studies for the preparation of teachers at the baccalaureate and master's degree level to work in public schools. The Teacher Education Committee is the policy making body for the total undergraduate teacher preparation program at Northwestern. Their recommendations are made to the executive vice president and become official policy when approved by the president, the Regional University System of Oklahoma, and the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in those areas requiring Regents' approval. The specific duties of Teacher Education Committee are:

(1) to approve all undergraduate teaching majors, minors, and certificate programs,

(2) to set standards for admission and retention,

(3) to approve the Teacher Education Faculty,

(4) to approve all changes in the programs,

(5) to act as an appeals committee for all student grievances,

(6) to approve changes in the faculty development process,

(7) to approve program evaluation processes,

(8) to recommend changes needed for policy and programs.

| More