Social Work Department attends 'Paves the Way for Change' conference

| More

Social Work Department attends 'Paves the Way for Change' conference


(From left) Raquel Conway, Britainee Clark, Shelby Hall, Dr. Kylene Rehder, Amber Cook and Kylie Pethoud represented Northwestern Oklahoma State University at the annual National Association of Social Workers (NASW) 39th Annual Oklahoma State Conference. Linda Cline not pictured.

Northwestern Oklahoma State University social work faculty and students recently attended the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) 39th annual Oklahoma State Conference held at the Embassy Suites Hotel and Conference Center in Norman.

This year’s conference theme was “Social Work Paves the Way for Change.” Northwestern was represented by social work seniors, as well as Dr. Kylene Rehder, social work program director and chair of the Department of Social Work, and Shelby Hall, assistant professor and social work director of field education.

Students in attendance include social work seniors Britainee Clark and Linda Cline, both of Woodward, Raquel Conway of Fargo, Amber Cook of Yukon, and Kylie Pethoud of Mutual.

During the conference, social work practitioners and students had the opportunity to attend more than 20 different workshops covering topics such as responding to military deployment and readjustment, addictions, narrative therapeutic approaches, empowerment, intimate partner violence, suicide prevention, palliative care, crisis intervention, community development, mental illness, substance abuse, co-occurring disorders, and traumatic treatment modalities.

Clark currently serves on the NASW-OK Board of Directors as the Northwest Branch Chair and Conway serves as the undergraduate student representative.

 Raquel Conway named student of the year

Raquel Conway (middle), NASW-OK Undergraduate Student of the Year stands with social work professors Shelby Hall (left) and Dr. Kylene Rehder (right) at the MASW 39th annual Oklahoma State Conference

The candidate slate for the 2015-2016 Board of Directors election includes Pethoud running for Northwest Branch Chair, Conway for the graduate student representative, and Rehder for the Northwest Chapter Committee on Nominations and Leadership Identification.

Frannie Pryor, NASW-OK Vice President presented Northwestern student, presented Conway with the Undergraduate Student of the Year Award during the state conference.

To learn more about Northwestern’s Department of Social Work, contact Rehder at or (580) 327-8135.