Service Learning Committee

Alva / About Northwestern / Standing Committees / Service Learning Committee

Service Learning Committee

Dr. Bo Hannaford, Chair

Dr. Kenneth Drobnak

Dr. Colleen Golightly

Ms. Verna Graybill

Dr. Jerry Gustafson

Ms. Kaylyn Hansen

Dr. Karen Linstrum

Dr. Steven Mackie

Dr. Jeffrey McAlpin

Dr. Saundra Nigh

Dr. Mary Ellen Nutter

Dr. Wei Zhou

Student -  Tatum Hansen

Service Learning/Civic Engagement is defined as educational experiences in which students participate in the organization and execution of service activities that address campus and community involvement. Students reflect on the service activity in such a way as to gain further understanding of course content, a broader appreciation of the discipline, and an enhanced sense of civic responsibility and engagement. The activities could range from single student internships to class or group projects. The committee is composed of faculty, staff, and students who are promoting the concept of service learning to campus organizations and instructors.

| More
Minutes 2008-2010