Senior Athletic Recognition

Alva / Athletics / Senior Athletic Recognition
| More

Senior Athletic Recognition
"Stewart Arthurs Senior Award"

Annually the athletic department recognizes all 4th or 5th year seniors who have been a part of the sport program for four years.  The purpose of this award is to recognize our student-athletes who have dedicated and committed four years to a particular sport.  Criteria to receive this award includes having a minimum grade-point average of 2.0; performing for four years with distinction in a varsity sport; and acting both on and off the field in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution, and intercollegiate athletics.

Each “Stewart Arthurs Award” winner will receive their framed jersey including an action photo after their sport season.  Further recognition will be sent to their local newspaper. 

This is a special award given by the Athletics Director.  Coaches will continue to honor all seniors during the last home contest by each sports traditional ceremony.

The award is named after Stewart Arthurs, a native of Bristow. Stewart attended Northwestern from 1958-62 earning 12 varsity letters in football, basketball, and track. He was awarded all-conference honors for three years in both football and basketball.

Aruthers established a school record for career rushing yards (2,495) which stood for 40 years. He also set records for touchdowns in a season (15) and touchdowns in a career (41). Arthurs led the basketball team in scoring in 1960-61 and 1961-62. In 1961 he set a conference track record as the low-hurdles champion.

Arthurs served as a member of the Board of Governors of the Oklahoma Bar Association, trustee of the Oklahoma Bar Association, Colonel in the Judge Advocate General's (JAG) Corps, is a member of the Northwestern Foundation Board of Directors, and a leader in many civic groups.

Initiated in Fall Semester 2009




2009 Football Recipients - Pictured left to right: Robbie Gaskill (Waynoka), Kevin McDonald (Guthrie), Kyle Koricanek (Guthrie), Matt Brand (Alex) and Cale Fischer (Guymon) 

Brandon Brown
2010 Men's Basketball Recipient - Brandon Brown (Houston, Texas)

2011 Stewart Arthurs Senior Award Recipients2010 Football Recipients - Pictured left to right: Adam Aguirre (Hennessey), Athletic Director Bob Battisti, Richard Gunnels (Lovelady, Tex.), Stewart Arthurs, Jerrad Ware (Savannah, Ga.), Head Coach Keith Barefield and Korey Williams (New Orleans, La.) 

2009-10 Soccer Recipients - Pictured left to right: Lee Gunn (Grand Prairie, Tex.), Head Coach Steve Barrows, Ashley Guinn (Mansfield, Tex.), Stewart Arthurs, and Christina Nunez (San Antonio, Tex.)













2009-10 Soccer Recipients - Pictured left to right: Lee Gunn (Grand Prairie, Tex.), Head Coach Steve Barrows, Ashley Guinn (Mansfield, Tex.), Stewart Arthurs, and Christina Nunez (San Antonio, Tex.)










2011 Women's Basketball Recipients - Pictured left to right: Head Coach Milburn Barton, Claudia Vazquez (Tonkawa), Alecia Heath (Chickasha) and Stewart Arthurs