| More

English Scholarships


The primary purpose of the Northwestern Oklahoma State University scholarship and award program is to recognize and reward the academic excellence of entering, transferring, and continuing students.  The scholarship programs are funded by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, the generosity of the University faculty and staff, the Northwestern Alumni, local business and professional people, civic and service organizations, private citizens, and from the earnings, endowments, and gifts to the Northwestern Foundation, Inc. These awards are offered each year to capable students whose participation, academic achievement, and/or leadership efforts merit recognition.  For more information about scholarships, please call the Financial Aid/Scholarship Office in Herod Hall: (580) 327-8540.


The English Department offers several scholarships to qualified students who must submit a completed application to the English Department by February 15; a second application must be submitted to Financial Aid by March 15. Since all Northwestern scholarships require annual application, students who have already been granted a scholarship and wish to continue receiving funds must complete an application and submit it to the Scholarship Office no later than March 15. Qualified students can get the application forms from the Financial Aid office located in Herod Hall room 113. The English Department's scholarship application is available from the England Department on the second floor of Vinson Hall. 

For more information, consult the NWOSU Financial Aid page.

 Gladys Bingham-Dotter Scholarship 

This scholarship is awarded to a full-time junior or senior majoring in English with a 3.00 CGPA. Preference will be given to applicants from the Northwestern service area.

Judy Jenlink Language Arts Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a full-time junior or senior majoring in English Education with a 3.25 CGPA. The candidate must also be active in at least one campus organization

Agnes Lebeda Writing Award 

The Lebeda Award is granted to a full-time senior or graduate student majoring in English with a 3.50 CGPA. All inquiries should be directed to the English Department. 

The Milt and Becky Lehr Award 

The Lehr Award is given to a full-time sophomore student who has been admitted to the Teacher Education Program and who is majoring in Elementary Education, English, or Mathematics. The English Department awards this scholarship every third year.

Gloria Piersall Scholarship 

This scholarship is awarded to a full-time English major with a CGPA of 2.50.

Fran Wadley Slack Scholarship 

This scholarship is awarded to a full-time junior or senior English major or minor with a CGPA of 3.00.