Resources for Digital Photographer
 
| More

Resources for Digital Photographers

Contents (updated July 2013)

(Please report new sites, dead links, and changes in prices)


PHOTO SHARING & PRINTING

Wikipedia Articles of Interest:

How to Choose a Photo Sharing Site for Newbies ~
www.mahalo.com/How_to_Choose_a_Photo_Sharing_Site_for_Newbie

Consumer Search Review of Online Printing Services, October 2007 ~
www.consumersearch.com/www/internet/digital-photo-printing/review.html

AOL PIctures ~ http://pictures.aol.com/

23 ~ www.23hq.com/

4Shared ~ www.4shared.com/share_photo.jsp

Aminus3 ~ www.aminus3.com ~ free photoblog hosting; unlimited images and bandwidth; search engine optimization for your photos.

Art Limited ~ http://artlimited.net ~ photos, art, and critics galore.

Atpic ~ http://atpic.com/

Better Photo ~ www.betterphoto.com/home.asp

Byte Gallery ~ www.bytegallery.com

Bytephoto ~ www.bytephoto.com/photopost/

Care2 ~ www.care2.com/c2c/photos/

DeviantART ~ www.deviantart.com/ ~ more of an art community than a photo sharing site; chat rooms and forums, including a forum dedicated to reports of others who rip off an artist's work.

Dropshots ~ www.dropshots.com/

Expono ~ www.expono.com/

Flickr ~ www.flickr.com/

FocalPower ~ http://focalpower.com

Fotki ~ www.fotki.com/us/

Fotolog ~ www.fotolog.com/ ~ Flickr meets MySpace.

Fotothing ~ www.fotothing.com/

Fototime ~ www.fototime.com/

Gallery 2 ~ http://gallery2.menalto.com/ ~ lets you manage your photos on your own website.

GlowFoto ~ www.glowfoto.com/

Hoorray ~ www.hoorray.com/

Humble Voice ~ www.humblevoice.com/ ~ for artists of all genres (film, word, photography, art, music).

ImageEvent ~ www.imageevent.com/ ~ free 21-day trial; $24.95 and $64.95 annual fee.

ImageShack ~ http://imageshack.us/

Ipernity ~ www.ipernity.com/ ~ free; share whatever you want with whoever you want (photos, videos, audio, docs).

Keep And Share ~ www.keepandshare.com/htm/free_photo_sharing.php

Kodak Easy Share Gallery ~ www.kodakgallery.com/

Koffee Photo ~ www.koffeephoto.com/en/ ~ software and online hosting combined into one.

Lenzus ~ http://lenzus.com/

Mac Web Gallery ~ www.apple.com/dotmac/webgallery/

Multiply ~ http://multiply.com ~ likely to be a big hit with bloggers and facebook fans due to integrated sharing options.

My Album ~ www.myalbum.com/

My Photo Album ~ www.myphotoalbum.com/

My Shutterspace ~ www.myshutterspace.com/

Natuba ~ specifically for sharing iPhone pictures ~ www.natuba.com/

One True Media ~ www.onetruemedia.com/ ~ geared toward social media users and blotters; makes slideshow and video montages, photo books, and ecards.

Panoramio ~ www.panoramio.com/ ~ photo sharing meets GPS; works with ATP's Photo Finder to geotag photos automatically.

PBase ~ www.pbase.com/ (includes a link to PBASE Magazine)

Phanfare ~ www.phanfare.com/

Photo.net ~ http://photo.net ~ huge community of amateur and professional photographers with a variety of skill levels and photographic experiences; more features if you contribute $20 donation per year.

Photoape ~ www.photoape.com/

Photoblog ~ www.photoblog.com/

Photobucket ~ photobucket.com/

Photofun ~ www.photofun.com/

Photopost ~ www.photopost.com/ ~ software to create your own galleries and invite users to join

PhotoSIG ~ www.photosig.com/go/main ~for the serious photography community.

Photoworks ~ www.photoworks.com/

Photo! Web Album ~ http://pho.to/webalbum/

Photrade ~ www.photrade.com/ ~ share photos, get paid.

Picable ~ www.picable.com/

Picasa ~ Google's free photo organizer; combines editing software and sharing solutions via web albums.

Picateers ~ www.picateers.com ~ fundraising meets photography.

Pichaus ~ http://pichaus.com/

Pickle ~ www.pickle.com/ ~ next-generation media sharing; photos & videos in one; instant sharing via camera phones.

PicMe ~ http://picme.raizlabs.com/ ~ allows you to organize your photos into stacks.

Pictoma ~ www.pictoma.com/

Picture Social: The Network for Photographers ~ www.picturesocial.com

Picture Trail ~ www.picturetrail.com/

Pix.ie ~ http://pix.ie/ ~ a lot like Flickr, but based in Ireland.

Pixamo ~ www.pixamo.com/ ~ Flickr meets FaceBook.

RedBubble ~ www.redbubble.com/ ~ exists to challenge the elitism of the traditional art world.

Ringo ~ www.ringo.com/

rmbr ~ http://rmbr.com/ ~ a funware application...allows you to instantly message, doodle, and play photo games with your friends and family.

Shutterfly ~ www.shutterfly.com  ~ free storage & enhancing of your photos & the ability to create things like Christmas cards or baby shower invitations! Plus photo tips & ideas here.

Slide ~ www.slide.com/

SmileBooks ~ "Real Photo Books.  Real Simple" ~ www.smilebooks.com

SmugMug ~ www.smugmug.com/ ~ no free plans; $39.95, $59.95, or $149.95 per year.

Snapfish ~ www.snapfish.com/

Tabblo ~ www.tabblo.com/studio/ ~ a place to make cool stuff with your photos

Tiny Album ~ www.tinyalbum.com

TREKEARTH ~ Learning About the World Through Photography ~ www.trekearth.com/ 

UTATA: Tribal Photography

Webshots ~ www.webshots.com/ ~ offers free and premium accounts; also allows you to download the Webshots Desktop software for managing/sharing your photos.

Winkflash ~ www.winkflash.com/ ~ unlimited storage.

Woophy (World of Photography) ~ "a free online database of the world" ~ www.woophy.com/

Zenfolio ~ www.zenfolio.com/ ~ hosting service for photo galleries; $25 to $100 per year

Zoomonga ~ www.zoomonga.com/

Zooomr ~ www.zooomr.com/ ~ similar to Flickr, but totally free with unlimited bandwidth, file storage, and uploading.

Zoto ~ www.zoto.com/ ~ unlimited storage, no ads, begins at $19.95 per year.


IMAGE EDITING ~ Software

Wikipedia article on "Image Editing" ~ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image_editing

2008 Top Ten Photo Editing Software Report ~ http://photo-editing-software-review.toptenreviews.com/

Huge list of resources: www.freedownloadcenter.com/Search/photo_editing.html

GIMP ~ GNU Image Manipulation Program ~ free

Image Forge (Cursor Arts) ~ http://www.cursorarts.com/ca_imf.html ~ $28.95 single user

Nova Development

Paint.net ~ www.getpaint.net ~ free

PhotoFiltre ~ http://photofiltre.free.fr/frames_en.htm ~ free

Photo Impression (ArcSoft) ~ http://www.arcsoft.com/products/photoimpression/ ~ $49.99; upgrade from $19.99

Photo Suite 8 (Roxio) ~ http://www.roxio.com/enu/products/photosuite/standard/overview.html ~ $29.99

Photo Plus X2 (Serif) ~ http://www.serif.com/photoplus/photoplusx2/ ~ $79.99; upgrade available

Photo! Editor (VicMan Software) ~ http://pho.to/editor/ ~ free

Picasa (Google) ~ http://picasa.google.com/ ~ free

Picture Manager (Microsoft, Wikipedia article) ~ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_Office_Picture_Manager

Smart Photo Editor - http://www.smartphotoeditor.com -- Advanced photo editing made easy; Free Trial and $29.95 to buy. (photo editing, background photo editing, 1,000s of shared photo effects)

 

Ultimate Paint ~ http://www.ultimatepaint.com/ ~ $34.95 single user

Vicman's Photo Editor ~ http://www.vicman.net/vcwphoto/index.htm ~ free


IMAGE EDITING ~ Online

Adobe Photoshop Express ~ http://www.photoshop.com/tools

Cellsea ~ http://editor.cellsea.com/ or www.cellsea.com/media/index.htm

Fan Studio ~ www.fanstudio.ru/index2.php

Five Best Online Image Editors ~ http://lifehacker.com/5307419/five-best-online-image-editors

Flauntr ~ www.flauntr.com/

FotoCrib ~ www.fotocrib.com/fstudio.php

FotoFlexer ~ http://fotoflexer.com/

Lunapic ~ www.lunapic.com/editor/?action=photo-spread (same editor as "MyTheme.com")

My Imager ~ www.myimager.com/

MyTheme.com ~ www.blibs.com/editor/ (same editor as "Lunapic")

Online Photo Tool ~ www.onlinephototool.com/

Phixr ~ www.phixr.com/

PiccyFix ~ www.piccyfix.com/

Picnik ~ www.picnik.com/app

Picresize ~ http://gui.picresize.com/picresize2/

PikiFx ~ www.pikifx.com/

Pixenate ~ http://pixenate.com/

Pixer ~ http://pixer.us/

Snipshot ~ http://snipshot.com/

Splashup ~ www.snipshot.com/ (formerly "Fauxto")

SumoPaint ~ www.sumopaint.com/

Webpictool ~ www.webpictool.com/


PHOTOGRAPHY TIPS & TECHNIQUES

(and Photography Blogs, Magazines, Humor, Etc.)

[Do a "Google" search by typing "photography tips" ~ you will get these and about 1.34 million additional links]

40 Amazing Online Photography Magazines ~
www.smashingmagazine.com/2009/04/17/40-amazing-online-photography-magazines/

About.com: Photography ~ a general photography site, with links such as "Basics, Equipment, Develop, Edit, Print, etc. ~ http://photography.about.com

Amateursnapper ~ Photography tips, tricks and techniques ~ www.amateursnapper.com

Apogee Photo..."The Internet's Photography Magazine" ~ www.apogeephoto.com/

ArtDaily ~ the first art newspsper on the  net ~ www.artdaily.com/index.asp

Best Family Photography Tips ~ http://www.best-family-photography-tips.com/index.html

Beyond Megapixels ~ "A digital photography guide for the rest of us" ~ www.beyondmegapixels.com/

Cambridge in Colour ~ Photography Tutorials and Gallery ~ www.cambridgeincolour.com/

Camera Position ~ by Jeff Curto ~ "A Podcast About the Creative Side of Photography" ~ http://www.cameraposition.com/

Camera Town ~ Developing the Photographer in You! ~ www.cameratown.com
See "The Ultimate List of Free Photography Podcasts" at www.cameratown.com/news/news.cfm/hurl/id|7497

CreativePro.com ~ "Where creatives go to know" ~ http://www.creativepro.com/topic/photography

Derrick Story's Top Ten Digital Photography Tips ~ http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2002/10/22/digi_photo_tips.html

Digital Camera Help ~ http://www.digital-cameras-help.com/ ~ see "Digital Photography Tutorials" and other links

Digital Photography Blog

Digital Photography School ~ http://digital-photography-school.com/  and  http://digital-photography-school.com/blog/ ~ see various links for "Digital Photography Forum" and "Digital Photography Tips"

Digital Photography Tips: How to Take Better Photos ~ http://www.hp.com/united-states/consumer/digital_photography/take_better_photos/

  • Digital Photography Tips, Photography Basics, Digital Photography Techniques, Watch and Learn, Vacation and Travel, Events and Holidays, Special Subjects

Digital Picture Zone ~ www.digitalpicturezone.com/

Earthbound Light ~ Photo Tips of the Week ~ http://www.earthboundlight.com/phototips.html

Expert Village ~ Beginning Photography Tips & Techniques (video series) ~ http://www.expertvillage.com/video/2353_photography-types.htm

Fodor's Focus on Photography ~ nearly 100 tips ~ http://www.fodors.com/focus/

  • Getting Ready, Classic Vacation Shots, The Man-Made World, The Natural World, The Elements, People, Lighting, Techniques, Composition

FStop Magazine ~ www.fstopmagazine.com/

Good Tutorials ~ click on "Photography" or "Photoshop" ~ http://www.good-tutorials.com/

Illustrated Photography ~ http://www.illustratedphotography.com/

 http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech.htm

Kodak "Tips and Projects Center" ~ http://www.kodak.com/eknec/PageQuerier.jhtml?pq-path=38/39&pq-locale=en_US

  • Top Ten Tips, People and Animals, Holidays and Events, Special Subjects, Vacation and Travel, Camera Phone Pictures, Interactive Demos, Advanced Techniques

Lens ~ NY Times photography blog: photography, video and visual journalism ~ http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com/

Lexar Digital Photography Tips and Lessons ~ http://www.lexar.com/dp/tips_lessons/index.html

  • Why Not Try...

  • Tips: Getting Started, Technical Tips, Subject Specific

  • Video Tutorials

  • Lessons: On Location, Behind the Scenes, Ideas and Inspiration, Technical Lessons

LexPix 35mm Photography ~

Murphy's Laws of Photography ~ www.murphys-laws.com/murphy/murphy-Photography.html

National Geographic

NANPA ~ The North American Nature Photography Association ~ www.nanpa.org/

  • "Connecting the Nature Photography Community"
  • "...the first and premiere association in North America committed solely to serving the field of nature photography."

Outdoor Lens ~ Nature and Wildlife Photography ~ www.outdoorlens.com/

Photocrati ~ by photographers, for photographers ~ "Our mission is to foster discussion between photographers working in diverse fields and to share resources that encourage technical, artistic, and professional growth for pros and enthusiasts alike" ~ www.photocrati.com

The Photographer's Right ~ a downloadable flyer (PDF) exploring your rights when stopped or confronted for photography. By Bert P. Krages II, Attorney at Law ~ www.krages.com/phoright.htm

Photography Basics ~ "Learn the basics of digital photography in easy steps"

Photography Bay ~ www.photographybay.com

Photography Now ~ "A Collection of Outstanding Artists" ~ http://photography-now.net/

Picture Correct ~ www.picturecorrect.com/PhotographyTips.htm ~

  • Beginner Tips: Exposure Basics, Composition, Light Usage, Night Photos, Portraits, Travel Preparation, Common Mistakes, Winter Photography

  • Advanced Tips: Expressions of Motion, Landscape Essentials, Developing a Workflow, Bad Weather Photos, Night Landscapes, Automotive Photography, Action Shots, Managing Light, Flash Photography, Using Histograms, Wildlife Photography, Camera Lens Guide, Digital Landscapes, Portrait Elements

  • "Some Basic Tips on Using Your Camera" by Yvonne Volante ~ http://www.picturecorrect.com/photographytips/basic_photography_tips.htm

  • "...hundreds more articles on all aspects of photography."

Pixdaus ~ nature photography site ~ http://pixdaus.com

Rick Sammon's Top Ten Digital Photography Tips ~ a YouTube video ~ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1Unv6DPJiU

SkyChaser's Basic Tips for Night Photography ~ http://www.skychasers.net/tips.htm

"Sunny 16" discussion on Flickr ~ http://www.flickr.com/groups/ishootfilm/discuss/72157606162020542/

Take Great Pictures ~ Tips, techniques, new products, events, artists, contests, etc. Includes "Celebrities Who Shoot" ~ http://www.takegreatpictures.com

TED Talks (Technology, Entertainment, Design) ~

Ten Tips for Better Photos, by Andrew Hudson ~ http://www.photosecrets.com/tips.p03.html

Web Photo School ~ www.webphotoschool.com/

  • Four free lessons; memberships range from $10 per month to $80 per year


PHOTOSHOP TIPS & TECHNIQUES

Adobe Photoshop Tutorials ~ http://www.tutorialized.com/tutorials/Photoshop/1

Digital Photoshop Retouching ~ http://www.digitalphotoshopretouching.com/ 

PhotoshopEssentials ~ http://www.photoshopessentials.com/index.php

The Photoshop Blog ~ http://www.photoshopsupport.com/photoshop-blog/

Photoshop CS3 Killer Tips ~ http://www.photoshopkillertips.com/

Photoshop News ~ http://photoshopnews.com/

The Photoshop Roadmap ~ http://www.photoshoproadmap.com/

PhotoshopUser TV ~ http://www.photoshopusertv.com/

Planet Photoshop ~ http://www.planetphotoshop.com/

Watch and Learn Photoshop ~ http://watchandlearnphotoshop.com/index.php


CAMERA AND LENS REVIEWS

alaTest ~ "All About Reviews" ~ http://alatest.com/reviews/photography-reviews/c3-146/

C-net Reviews ~ http://reviews.cnet.com/digital-cameras/?tag=glnav

Consumer Reports ~ http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/electronics-computers/cameras-photography/cameras-camcorders/digital-cameras/reports/index.htm

DC Views ~ http://www.dcviews.com/cameras.htm

Demystifying Digital ~ http://www.demystifyingdigital.com/

Digital Camera Database ~ http://www.digicamdb.com

Digital Camera HQ ~ http://www.digitalcamera-hq.com/digital-cameras/

Digital Camera Info ~ http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/d/Digital-Camera-Reviews.htm

Digital Camera Resource Page ~ http://www.dcresource.com/

Digital Camera Review ~ http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/reviews/

Digital Camera Tracker ~ http://www.digitalcameratracker.com/

Digital Photography Review ~ http://www.dpreview.com/

DPhoto Journal ~ http://www.dphotojournal.com/

Gail's Digital Photography Blogs ~ http://www.digicamhelp.com/camera-logs/

Imaging Resource ~ http://www.imaging-resource.com/

Lens Tip ~ http://www.lenstip.com/

Photography Review ~ http://www.photographyreview.com/

Steve's Digicams ~ http://www.digitalcamerainfo.com/d/Digital-Camera-Reviews.htm  or http://www.steves-digicams.com/

Test Freaks ~ www.testfreaks.com/digitalcameras/ 

The Digital Camera ~ http://www.thedigitalcamera.org/


PUBLISHING YOUR PHOTOS

Blurb ~ www.blurb.com/

Chrome Digital Press ~ www.chromedigitalpress.com/

Create Online Photo Albums ~ www.createonlinephotoalbums.com/

Create Picture Books ~ www.createpicturebooks.com/index.htm

Family Memories ~ www.familymemories.com/index.asp

Inkubook ~ www.inkubook.com/default.aspx

iPhoto ~ www.apple.com/ilife/iphoto/ (Apple Mac)

Lulu ~ www.lulu.com/

My Publisher ~ www.mypublisher.com/

Picaboo ~ www.picaboo.com/

Qoop ~ www.qoop.com/

Scrapbooks Please ~ www.scrapbooksplease.com/orderphotobook1.aspx

Shared Ink ~ www.sharedink.com/

U Build A Book ~ www.ubuildabook.com/

Viovio ~ www.viovio.com/


OTHER LINKS OF INTEREST

FREE Online Webinars at www.creativeLIVE.com

Photography Tutorials:

Digital Photography Lighting

Photography Contests:

Photography Magazines:

Photography Newsletters:

Products:

Tiny Prints Business Cards -- www.tinyprints.com/business/shop/business-cards.htm

Tiny Prints Christmas Photo Cards -- www.tinyprints.com/shop/picture-christmas-cards.htm



 Please report broken links or new resources

Creativity Project Footer graphic