Red and Black Scroll Honor Society gains 19 new members

| More

Red and Black Scroll Honor Society gains 19 new members

 Red and Black Scroll Honor Society

In an awards ceremony honoring Northwestern Oklahoma State University sophomores, 19 were inducted into the Red and Black Scroll honor society.  New Red and Black Scroll members include (back row, from left) Bipen Shrestha, Matt Schrieder, Jonathan Dwamena, Francis Declan, Kofi Gyening, Matthew Thomas, Hunter Kelley, (middle row) Michaela Zook, Morgan Renbarger, Cheyenne Pierce, Lapka Lama, Janet Faakye, Edem Attar, Mikayla Schmidt, RaLyssa Taylor, (front row) Dr. Dena Walker, Brady Fields, Morgan Biaggi, Jordan Evans, Erin Hopkins and Dr. Sheila Brintnall.

Northwestern Oklahoma State University recently initiated 19 new members into the Red and Black Scroll honor society during a ceremony in the Student Center Wyatt Room.

Red and Black Scroll recognizes outstanding scholarship and service among sophomore students at Northwestern. Requirements for membership include completion of 40-59 hours of college credit, a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0, participation in two or more campus organizations or activities, attendance at Northwestern for at least two semesters and non-failure of a college course.

Sponsors are Dr. Dena Walker, instructor of mathematics, and Dr. Sheila Brintnall, professor of mathematics.

This year’s inductees include Mikayla Schmidt, Towner (Colo.); Morgan Biaggi, Boise City; Jordan Evans, Edmond; Brady Fields, Seiling; Erin Hopkins, Fairview; Hunter Kelley, Anthony (Kan.); Cheyenne Pierce, Fort Cobb; Morgan Renbarger, Calumet; Matt Schneider, Enid; RaLyssa Taylor and Matthew Thomas, both from Alva; Michaela Zook, Waynoka; Edem Attor, Francis Declan, Janet Faakye, Kofi Gyening, Jonathan Dwamena, all from Accra (Ghana); and Lakpa Lama and Bipin Shrestha, both from Nepal.

Red and Black Scroll officers were elected the same evening.  New officers are: Brady Fields, president; Morgan Biaggi, vice president; Jordan Evans, secretary/treasurer; and Erin Hopkins, reporter/historian.