Perpetual Motion to end concert series March 10

| More

Perpetual Motion to end concert series March 10

 Perpetual Motion
Known for innovative choreography and three-dimensional performances, Perpetual Motion Dance, an Oklahoma based premier modern and aerial dance company, will be at Northwestern Oklahoma State University’s Herod Hall Auditorium Mar. 10 at 7:30 p.m. to conclude the 2014-15 Northwest Oklahoma Concert Series.

Perpetual Motion Dance is an Oklahoma City based non-profit dance company.  Founded in 2002, Perpetual Motion Dance has since grown to become the premier modern and aerial dance company in Oklahoma. 

The company’s repertory is evocative, visceral and innovative, aspiring to harness the energies of the human imagination.  Original cutting edge works, created by company choreographers as well as nationally-acclaimed guest artists, transform Perpetual Motion Dance’s concerts each year. Perpetual Motion Dance is the first company in Oklahoma to incorporate aerial dance, setting them apart as a groundbreaking company.

In 2006, Perpetual Motion Dance began the annual Oklahoma Contemporary Dance Festival, which brings together local dancers and choreographers for a month long series of rehearsals and classes.  The Oklahoma Contemporary Dance Festival is a truly unique, collaborative event that unites the Oklahoma dance community.

In addition to presenting annual concerts in Oklahoma City, Perpetual Motion Dance tours both regionally and nationally, including: ROGUE (CA), Out of the Loop Festival (TX), PILOT: Choreographers Take Flight (TX), and the New Genre Festival (OK). 

Perpetual Motion Dance also completed a 10 performance tour of the Metropolitan Library System in the Fall of 2012.

Contact Dr. Irene Messoloras, chair of the Department of Fine Arts, at (580) 327-8692 or, to purchase tickets or pick them up at Holder Drug, the NWOSU Bookstore, Graceful Arts Center, Rialto or by calling (580) 327-8692.            

The Northwest Oklahoma Concert Series is supported by the Alva Tourism Convention Development Committee, the Oklahoma Arts Council, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Charles Morton Share Trust.