Northwestern announces Outstanding Seniors for 2009

| More

Northwestern announces Outstanding Seniors for 2009

April 22, 2009

Eight members of the Class of 2009 at Northwestern Oklahoma State University will be honored as Outstanding Seniors at the Northwestern Foundation’s Special Awards Presentation at 6 p.m., Saturday, April 25, in the Student Center Ranger Room.

To be selected as an Outstanding Senior, students must show campus and/or community involvement, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better, have completed at least 60 hours at Northwestern, never have been subject to academic or disciplinary action and show the promise of future achievement.

Each recipient receives a plaque and a $100 savings bond.

Those selected, listed alphabetically, and a brief summary of their activities are:

Allison CunninghamAllison Adair Cunningham of Alva will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in mass communications. Cunningham is the current president of the senior class at Northwestern, current co-president and past vice-president of the Northwestern Scholar Ambassadors (NSA), and she is a member of Cardinal Key Honor Society. She is a co-anchor for NWTV Channel 7 at Northwestern, which was awarded Best Television Newscast by the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association (OBEA). She was also Northwestern’s candidate for the George and Donna Nigh Leadership Academy.

Garrett ClineGarrett Scott Cline of Covington, Okla., will receive a Bachelor of Science degree in mathematics education. He has already passed the Oklahoma General Education Tests (OGET), the Oklahoma Subject Area Tests (OSAT) and the Oklahoma Professional Teaching Examination (OPTE); all are certificate examinations for educators. Cline is also qualified to coach. He has served as the president and secretary of the Northwestern Math Club, treasurer of Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) and was a judge for the Heartland BEST robotics competition.

Balram GautamBalram Gautam of Kathmandu, Nepal, is a December 2008 graduate and graduated Magna Cum Laude with degrees in computer science and mathematics. At Northwestern, he was the president of the Math Club, treasurer of the Computer Science Club and very active in the International Student Association. Gautam was the Math Student of the Year in 2008 and was on the President and Vice-President Honor Rolls all four years at Northwestern. He currently is employed by Woodward Regional Hospital in Woodward, Okla. as an IT System Administrator.

Heather GottschHeather Gottsch of Alva is a December 2008 graduate. She graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education. Gottsch is certified to teach elementary education, early childhood education and family and consumer sciences. While attending Northwestern she was a part of NSA, the Student Oklahoma Education Association (SOEA), Cardinal Key Honor Society and was on the President’s Honor Roll. She is currently employed by Alva Public Schools as a sixth grade teacher. Heather teaches science, social studies and physical education.

Stefani OvertonStefani Rená Overton of Knowles, Okla., will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in elementary education. She has served as president, treasurer and the National Education Association delegate for SOEA, vice-president of the Cardinal Key Honor Society and was the vice-president of SADD. Overton is a member of NSA, Spanish Club and is the student representative for the Northwestern Teacher Education Committee. She is one of the recipients of the T.C. Carter Award for the graduating senior(s) with the highest cumulative grade point average and the Dr. Joe Dollins Merit Award which is given to a student who has completed the student teaching professional semester.

Anika RohlaAnika Rohla of Halle/Saale, Germany, will graduate with a Bachelor of Arts in Education and her major is English. She received many academic scholarships and was very active on campus. Anika served as president and vice-president of Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society, president of Lamba Iota Tau Literature Honor Society and was the secretary of SOEA for three years. She hopes to teach English, German, Spanish and English as a second language at the middle school and high school levels. Rohla is a T.C. Carter Award recipient.

Jena SeilerJena Robin Seiler of Conway Springs, Kan., is a December 2008 graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology and will receive her Bachelor of Arts degree in Spanish in May 2009. Jena is a member of Psi Chi Psychology Honor Society, Phi Delta Music Society, Psychology Club, Spanish Club and NSA. She is the current president of the Spanish Club, co-president of NSA and is the founder and president of the Immaculate Heart of Mary Newman Society. She served as the secretary of Intramurals and is the student assistant to the Vice-President of Academic Affairs. She is also a recipient of the Psychology Student of the Year Award.

Kenny-Jo WallenKenny-Jo Wallen of Glenpool, Okla., will graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing. Kenny-Jo is a registered Nurse’s Assistant. He is a Northwestern Scholar Ambassador, a member of the Northwest Honor Society for Nurses, received first place at Ranger Research Day and has received several academic scholarships. He is currently employed at Integris Bass Baptist Health Center in Enid, Okla. as a Nurse Technician. He is the recipient of the John F. Kennedy Memorial Award which is given by the Student Government Association to a student who demonstrates outstanding service to the university, community and country.

Others receiving awards are Cary Cross, T.C. Carter Award; Shellie Floyd, T.C. Carter Award; Jessica Hartzell, T.C. Carter Award; Sara Hauser, T.C. Carter Award; Linn Laughrey, T.C. Carter Award; Kimberly Martin, T.C. Carter Award; Jeremy McBride, Sabin and Pearl Percefull Scholarship Award; Brittani Moore, John Ted Meier Student Teaching Award; Jyl Ratzlaff, Psychology Student of the Year; and Melanie Wilderman, John Sheffield Teacher of the Year.