Northwestern to take on Lubbock Christian in opening round of SAC tournament

Alva / Athletics / Women's Basketball
| More

Northwestern to take on Lubbock Christian in opening round of SAC tournament


The Northwestern Oklahoma State University women's basketball team will take on No. 6 Lubbock Christian in the opening round of the Sooner Athletic Conference tournament as announced by the league office yesterday. The schools will hook up at 9 a.m. Thursday, March 1, in the opening game of the tournament. The entire tournament will take place in Siloam Springs, Ark. and hosted by John Brown University.

The Lady Rangers (13-14, 10-12 SAC) lost both meetings against Lubbock Christian during the regular season falling 89-68 on Saturday and 72-52 at Percefull Fieldhouse earlier in the year.

Northwestern is led by junior Audrey Richmond, who is nine points away from the 1000-point threshold. She would be the fourth NWOSU basketball player (Autumn Klugh, Marshall Bell, Jonathan Freemyer) to reach the mark this season. Richmond's 13.5 points per game leads the squad while Klugh, a senior, is the holder of the school's career three-pointer record having nailed 79 on the season.

The Opponent

Lubbock Christian won a share of the regular season SAC title by going 21-1. The Lady Chaparrals were the only team in the SAC to beat No. 1 Oklahoma City but lost the top seed to Oklahoma City due to an inferior overall record.

Leading Scorers

Kelsey Canavan 16.6
Emily Atkins 14.0
Nicole Hampton 13.6
Brittany Roberts 12.0

Best three point shooter: Brittany Roberts (38-93) .409
Top rebounder: Kelsey Canavan 8.0
Top Free Throw Shooter: Nicole Hampton (119-129) .922
Assists leader: Nicole Hampton 113

Full Tournament Schedule


2. Lubbock Christian vs. 7. Northwestern Oklahoma State, 9 a.m.
4. Rogers State vs. 5. St. Gregory's, 10:45 a.m.

3. Southern Nazarene vs. 6. Oklahoma Baptist, 12:30 p.m.
1. Oklahoma City vs. 8. John Brown, 2:15 p.m.


LCU/NWOSU winner vs. SNU/OBU winner, 1 p.m.

RSU/SGU winner vs. OCU/JBU winner, 3 p.m.


Championship, 4 p.m.