Northwestern students honored at Business Awards Ceremony; 16 inducted into honor society

| More

Northwestern students honored at Business Awards Ceremony; 16 inducted into honor society

May 4, 2012

 Sigma Beta Delta members
Four faculty members and 12 students were inducted into the Northwestern Oklahoma State University chapter of Sigma Beta Delta, a business honor society.  Students also were recognized for receiving scholarships based on their academic success.

Besides announcing student scholarships, honors and recognition, 16 members recently were initiated into Northwestern Oklahoma State University’s business honor society Sigma Beta Delta, during the annual Division of Business awards ceremony. Four faculty members, Dr. James Bowen, School of Professional Studies dean; Dr. Steve Lohmann, executive vice president; Dana Roark, instructor of business; and Dr. Wei Zhou, assistant professor of business, along with 12 students were inducted at a recent ceremony.

Student inductee’s names, hometowns and classifications include:

Earl Bell, Alva junior; Alyssa Bigon and Melanie Kleuser, Woodward seniors; Nichole Chase, Woodward junior; Kelsi Gibson, Cherokee senior; Amanda Hamaker, Fargo junior; Kellan Hohmann, Deer Creek senior; Fawn Kingcade, Alva junior; Cindy Madsen, Beaver senior; Johnnie Pyle, Helena senior; Cortney Ratzlaff, Lahoma senior, and Jana Walker, Freedom senior.

Three students were named as the Outstanding 2011-2012 Graduating Students. Students include Tanner Cunningham, Alva accounting major; Thiago Guilherme, Liberal (Kan.) business administration major, and Rachel Wilczek, Kingfisher accounting major.

Students majoring in business and accounting were recognized for receiving scholarships for the 2011-2012 school year.

Although some students were unable to attend the awards ceremony, all recipients and awards received are listed below:


OSCPA honors Oklahoma’s top accounting students, who are selected by their school’s faculty. Universities are allowed to choose two students for the award.

COLLINS & BUTLER $1,000 ACCOUNTING SCHOLARSHIPS: Emily Vanscoy, Enid senior.

To be eligible for the scholarship, the candidate must be from the Enid area, a senior or junior in accounting, and plan to remain in the Enid area for work upon graduation.


Established in 2009 in honor of Don and Donna Benson by their family, the purpose of this scholarship is to provide relief to a continuing student at Northwestern studying in the field of business, accounting, law or political science.


The Mrs. W. W. Starr Business Scholarship was established by the family of the late Mrs. Starr. The award is to be made each year to a business major nominated by a member of the business department faculty. The recipient must be at least a junior, have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and show strong leadership through campus activities.

DARR B. SIMS SCHOLARSHIP: Destrye Keith, Fort Supply junior.

Darr B. Sims attended Northwestern from 1936-1941, and graduated with honors with a major in business administration. This award was created in 1975 by his widow, Mabel Sims. The recipients of this scholarship are chosen by the business faculty.

GEORGE AND GRACE HENDERSON FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP: Jeremy Gutierrez, Hallettsville (Texas)junior.

This scholarship was established in 1994 by the family of George and Grace Henderson. This scholarship is given to a continuing student majoring in business with at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA. Preference is given to applicants who exhibit leadership skills and are active in campus organizations.

THE NORMA JEAN SMITH SCHOLARSHIP: Stephanie Hamaker, Fargo junior.

This endowment was established in 2001 in honor of Norma Jean Smith and her dedication to the students of Northwestern. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to a student majoring in the field of business at Northwestern.


This scholarship was established in 2002 in honor of Helen Vore Sutter and her commitment to Northwestern and young people in northwest Oklahoma. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to Northwestern students majoring in business or business education.

ROBERT R. BROWN SCHOLARSHIP: Clansy Harzman, Alva senior.

Adair Brown and his family established this scholarship in 1997. This scholarship is given in Robert R. Brown’s name and is awarded to a continuing Northwestern student with a minimum CGPA of 2.7. First preference is given to business majors, with second preference going to economics majors. The recipient must have resided in Oklahoma, Kansas or Colorado and must possess a positive attitude about the future and be able to express the same. Applicants must exhibit leadership skills and be active in campus organizations.

WILMA A. ERNST SCHOLARSHIP: Beverly Howard, Kingfisher senior.

Wilma A. Ernst served with distinction as a faculty member of Northwestern from 1940 to 1972. In tribute to her years of service, funds were donated by students, faculty and friends. The recipient of the Ernst Scholarship is chosen by the business faculty. The award is made annually to upper division students majoring in any of the major areas in the business department. Other criteria considered are academic achievement, activities in the department and on campus and need.


This endowment was established in 2005 by J. Cooper and Gladys (Webb) West. J. Cooper and his wife, Gladys, are both graduates of Northwestern. J. Cooper earned his business degree in 1939, and Gladys earned her business degree in 1938. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to Northwestern nursing and business students.

Members of the Student Advisory Council include Ilene Christian, Enid senior; Tanner Cunningham; Yadira Estrada, Buffalo senior; Kellan Hohmann; Timothy Rathburn, Ponca City senior; Jana Walker; Rachel Wilczek; and Korey Williams, New Orleans (La.) post graduate.

Members of Phi Beta Lambda (PBL), a college organization to further leadership among the business community, include Hohmann, president; Williams, vice president; Cameron Wilson, Keller (Texas) junior, secretary; Estrada, treasurer; and Gibson, reporter.