Northwestern student teachers enter area schools

| More

Northwestern student teachers enter area schools

February 8, 2011

 2011 Student Teachers
Northwestern Oklahoma State University student teachers are pictured with members of the senior staff and Elizabeth Smith, 2011 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year. Smith is a reading teacher for Byng Public Schools.

Education majors at Northwestern Oklahoma State University entered area schools to begin student teaching on Monday, Feb. 7. Forty-five senior education students will be teaching across Oklahoma until May 6.

Students will return to campus for the Teacher Fair on March 24. Final seminar is on May 2, with portfolio exit interviews beginning that day through May 6. Graduation is scheduled for May 7.

Agriculture students, their hometowns and teaching assignments are as follows:

Sarah Bellamy, Cherokee, Pond Creek-Hunter High School; Courtney Newman, Waukomis, Waukomis High School; Jerad Noble, Beaver, Wakita High School; Chelsy Simpson, Edmond, Cheyenne High School; and Katlynn Weathers, Edmond, Guthrie High School.

Elementary education students, their hometowns and teaching assignments are as follows:

Kari Biddle, Winfield, Kan., Alva Longfellow Elementary; Kara Castor, Vici, Shattuck Elementary; Candice Davis, Hardtner, Kan., Burlington Elementary; Shannon Drew, Buffalo, Alva Longfellow Elementary; Ann Marie Emmons, Ponca City, Ponca City Woodlands Elementary; Katlin Harris, Lucien, Covington-Douglas Elementary; Kayla Knabe-Gilchrist, Alva, Woodward Cedar Heights Elementary; Nancy Layne, Enid, Enid Coolidge Elementary; Rachel Lowder, Ringwood, Aline-Cleo Elementary; Kacie McCollum-Earl, Enid, Enid McKinley Elementary; Danielle McGinn (also an early childhood education major), Longdale, Fairview Elementary; Heather Miles, Enid, Chisholm Elementary; Susan Newman, Ringwood, Cimarron Elementary; Kimberly Ring, Enid, Enid Hayes Elementary; Jessica Thompson, Ponca City, Ponca City Lincoln Elementary; and Toni Webb, Enid, Enid Coolidge Elementary.

Early childhood education students, their hometowns and teaching assignments are as follows:

Whitney Devine, Woodward, Sharon-Mutual Elementary; Becky Freeman, Sun City, Kan., Vici Elementary; Kim Hacker, Woodward, Woodward Early Childhood Center; Elizabeth Lara, Enid, Enid Garfield Elementary; Megan Mayfield, Fairview, Okeene Elementary; Kimberly Mayhall, Ponca City, Ponca City Garfield Elementary; Charly Roach, Texhoma, Alva Washington Elementary; Kristi Smithen, Blackwell, Blackwell Education Center and Elementary; and Debbie Stewart, Ponca City, Ponca City Union School.

Health and sports science students, their hometowns and teaching assignments are as follows:
Bryant Briggs, Seiling, Cherokee High School; Jarrod Inman, Cherokee, South Barber High School; Ryan Penner, Alva, Burlington Public Schools.

Social science students, their hometowns and teaching assignments are as follows:

Aaron Bates, Mooreland, Vici High School; James Irwin, Jr., Woodward, Woodward High School; Danielle Ray, Hurst, Texas, Cherokee High School; and Jordan Taylor, Alva, Waynoka High School.

Carrissa Choate, Ringwood, Cherokee High School; and Laura Schnelle, Anthony, (Kan.), South Barber (Kan.) High School, are English majors.

Math teachers Jessica Hoffert, Woodward, and Greg Uribe, Spring Valley, Calif., will be teaching at Mooreland High School and Woodward High School, respectively.

Danielle Murry, a science education major from Clinton, will teach at Waynoka High School.