Northwestern staff elects new members of council

| More

Northwestern staff elects new members of council

August 14, 2012 

 2012-2013 Staff Council
Northwestern Oklahoma State University’s newly-elected Staff Council members are (back row, from left) Angelia Case, David Washington, Rachel Stewart, Stephanie Widick (front row) Chauncey Durham, Valarie Case, Erika Birk, Teri Warren and Natalie Miller. Member Charlie Burns is not pictured.

Staff members at Northwestern Oklahoma State University recently elected new members of the Staff Council to fill expiring terms. The council represents non-exempt employees (those who are not faculty or administrative officers) on all three campuses. The council in turn elects officers to serve for one and two-year terms.

Current officers are Natalie Miller, assistant certification officer, chair; Chauncey Durham, ITV assistant coordinator-Enid, chair-elect; David Washington, carpenter and events facilitator, past-chair; and Erika Birk, university relations specialist, secretary.

Members completing their two-year term are Angelia Case, institutional media technician; Charlie Burns, special events coordinator-Woodward; and Stephanie Widick, registration office assistant-Enid. Teri Warren, assistant registrar/admissions coordinator, is a newly elected two-year member.

Valarie Case, university relations specialist, and Rachel Stewart, special events coordinator, have been elected to serve as one-year members.

The Staff Council is tasked with making recommendations to the administration on all matters of concern to non-exempt employees and to enable those employees to participate in the achievement of the goals of Northwestern.

The Staff Council is not the only employee representative body at the university. Faculty members have the Faculty Senate and administrative employees have the Professional Staff Council.

The Faculty Senate’s purpose is to encourage, promote and channel faculty participation in the shaping of university policy. It identifies and considers problems related to academic excellence and personnel policies and recommends solutions.

The senate also provides the faculty and administration a forum for communication and provides greater utilization of creative and innovative faculty resources.

Those serving 2011-2013 terms are Dr. Sheila Brintnall, professor of mathematics, president; Dr. Jim Breyley Jr., associate professor of business; Dr. Cornelia Mihai, associate professor of chemistry; and Dr. Mary Ellen Nutter, assistant professor of education.

Elected to 2012-2014 terms are Dr. Claudia Young, assistant professor of Spanish, vice president; Dr. Sarah Chan, assistant professor of music; Brandice Guerra, assistant professor of art; Dr. Tim Maharry, associate professor of mathematics; Dana Roark, instructor in business; and Kimberly Weast, associate professor of theatre.

In the same vein as the other representative bodies, the Professional Staff Council exists to provide an avenue of communication between the administration and professional exempt employees at Northwestern so that the employees may participate in the formulation of policies and in the solution of problems affecting them.

Leah Haines, director of assessment and institutional effectiveness, serves as chair. Carmen Eicken, assistant director of financial aid, is the secretary and the vice chair position is vacant at the moment.

Other council members are Marc Wallace, director of students and director of housing; Shawna Bivin, director of the Holder Wellness Center; Tami Cooper, director of human resources; Lori Coonrod, coordinator of student services-Enid; Joanne Prewett, director of the Academic Success Center; and Sandra Earnst, violence prevention project coordinator.