Northwestern, Charles Morton Share Trust combine efforts for improvements; receive award

| More

Northwestern, Charles Morton Share Trust combine efforts for improvements; receive award

Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award
Chancellor Glen Johnson (far left) and Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb (far right) David Pecha, vice president for administration; Johnny Jones, Share Trust board member; and Dr. Janet Cunningham, university president, accepted the Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award. 

The longtime partnership between Northwestern Oklahoma State University and the Charles Morton Share Trust of Alva recently was recognized by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education during the Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award program. This connection has paved the way to provide many university improvements to better serve northwest Oklahoma.

At a recent ceremony attended by Lt. Gov. Todd Lamb and Higher Education Chancellor Glen Johnson, Northwestern and the Share Trust were one of 27 higher education partnerships throughout the state recognized for innovative collaborations that strengthen Oklahoma’s colleges and universities.

The Share Trust made its first major investment in Northwestern in 1989, establishing the Charles Morton Share endowed chair in education. This gift led the way for Northwestern to secure commitments for 22 endowed chairs, the most of any regional university in Oklahoma.

In 1999, the Share Trust provided $1.5 million in private funding to help construct the J.R. Holder Wellness Center, a 42,000-square-foot wellness facility on campus. In 2007, when Northwestern announced its Vision for Victory Campaign for athletics, the Share Trust once again stepped forward with a lead gift of $1.5 million. This gift inspired many more donors to help raise nearly $4 million to construct new facilities and renovate existing facilities. The Share Trust also supports the Northwest Oklahoma Concert Series, university homecoming activities and the Heartland BEST robotics competition.

“The positive impact of the Share Trust on Northwestern and Alva cannot be understated,” said Dr. Janet Cunningham, university president. “The vision of Charles Morton Share and the stewardship of the current Share Trust board has played such an important part in the growth and success of Northwestern. We are pleased to be able to highlight and celebrate their contributions to the students of Northwestern.”

Current Share Trust board members include Jim Holder, Ray Dean Linder, Darrell Kline and Johnny Jones of Alva, and B. Michael Carroll of Oklahoma City.