Northwestern 2016 Outstanding Seniors, other awards announced

| More

Northwestern 2016 Outstanding Seniors, other awards announced

April 28, 2016

Nine Northwestern seniors will be recognized as Outstanding Seniors at this year’s Spring Alumni Reunion Awards Ceremony, Saturday, April 30, at 5:15 p.m. in the Northwestern Student Center Ranger Room.

A committee selected Cayla Deviney, Riley Faulkner, Sarah Gerszewski, Rachelle Keenan, Mekayla Knox, Nichole Litzau, Elizabeth Patterson, Natalie Sacket and Tiffany Wilhite as the 2016 Outstanding Seniors.
This award honors outstanding graduating seniors and is sponsored by the Northwestern Foundation & Alumni Association and the Student Government Association. Recipients must have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5, have completed at least 60 credit hours at Northwestern, never have been subject to academic or disciplinary action, be involved in campus and/or community activities and show promise of future achievement.

Outstanding Seniors:

Cayla Deviney 

Cayla Deviney, of Woodward, Okla., is an accounting major who has maintained a 4.0 GPA. Deviney has been the recipient of several business scholarships during her time as a student, and recently started her first accounting job at Campbell, Shaffer, & Co. in Enid. She plans to earn her Masters in accounting. 

 Riley Faulkner  

Riley Faulkner, of Alva, Okla., graduated from Northwestern in Dec. 2015 with a degree in vocal music education. Faulkner served as the Northwestern choir section leader, choir president and as the American Choral Directors Association president for two years. In 2014, she received the Choir’s Most Valuable Person award and the Director’s award. She also has excelled academically, as she has consistently been listed on the President’s Honor Roll.

 Sarah G  

Sarah Gerszewski, of Enid, Okla., graduated in December of 2015 with a degree in criminal justice and law enforcement with a minor in psychology. She has been named to the Dean’s and President’s Honor Rolls, while balancing two part-time jobs. She intends to apply to law school in the future.


Rachelle Keene, of Turpin, Okla., is a senior biology major who consistently remained on the vice president’s and president’s honor rolls. She served as a tutor in the science department and was a resident’s assistant, museum assistant and a recruitment office assistant. Keene was a participant in Ranger Research Day, Leadership Northwestern, Medical Sciences Club, Chemistry Club and Northwestern Scholars Ambassadors.



Mekayla Knox, of Mustang, Okla., is a senior agriculture major with a minor in business. She served as a student recruiter in the Northwestern Office of Recruitment while a member of Leadership Northwestern and consistently made the President’s Honor Roll. She also served as the vice president of the Future Business Leaders of America Club.


 Nicole Litzau  

Nichole Litzau, of Enid, Okla., will graduate with a bachelor’s in business administration with an emphasis in marketing. Litzau was a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and has remained on the Vice President’s and President’s Honor Rolls. While a student at Northwestern, she has pursued a career in cosmetology.

 Patterson Elizabeth Patterson, of Newkirk, Okla., is a spring graduate who will receive her degree in early childhood education. She maintained a high standard of academics on the president’s honor roll and was a student member of the Oklahoma Education Association. She also has served as a tutor and volunteer for local schools.

Natalie Sacket 

Natalie Sacket, of Fairview, Okla., is a senior English major and mass communication minor. She served in leadership roles in several organizations, including Student Government Association, Northwestern Scholar Ambassadors, Writer’s Roundtable, and the Red and Black Honor Scroll. Sacket maintained a 4.0 GPA.


Tiffany Wilhite, of Blackwell, Okla., is a spring graduate of the Northwestern Nursing program. She is a recipient of the McNally Nursing Scholarship and was a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. She is an active member of the Oklahoma Nursing Student’s Association and has dedicated numerous hours to volunteering for her community.

Other Award Recipients

Dakota Buckhaults, Natalie Sacket, Teris Dangol, Cayla Deviney, Stacy Dimas-Olson and Taylor Watham will be awarded the T.C. Carter Award, presented to the graduating seniors with the highest grade point average.
Other Northwestern students and faculty to be recognized include: Jordan Evans, receiving the Newman Civic Fellow Award; Nancy Crow and Zachary Frische, receiving the Psychology Student of the Year Award; Ana Gomez, receiving the Dr. Joe Dollins Merit Award and John Ted Meier Student Teaching Award; Natalie Sacket, receiving the John F. Kennedy Award; Kendall J. Hall, receiving the Sabin and Pearl Percefull Scholarship Award; and Jennifer Oswald, receiving the John Sheffield Teacher of the Year Award.