Northwest Oklahoma Concert Series starts with Mountain Smoke Oct. 28

| More

Northwest Oklahoma Concert Series starts with Mountain Smoke Oct. 28

Mountain Smoke
"Oklahoma’s favorite band,” Mountain Smoke, will bring the original and unpredictable acoustic stylings of bluegrass and folk to Northwestern Oklahoma State University’s Herod Hall Auditorium Oct. 28 at 7:30 p.m.

The longtime blue grass band with 40 years of music was voted “Oklahoma’s Favorite Band” by the reader’s poll in the Daily Oklahoman and “Oklahoma’s Best Country Band” by the Oklahoma Gazette Music Awards. Infused with elements of country and folk, the power of newgrass, and mountain ballads, Mountain Smoke captivates their audience with their original songs and music they have adapted to their unique style.

The band has performed from Washington D.C, to the Round Barn in Arcadia, Okla., and everywhere in between.  In addition to performing at The White House and for Presidents Gerald Ford, George Bush, Jimmy Carter, and every Oklahoma Governor since 1973, the band's list of performance credits reads like a who’s who in bluegrass and country music. Appearing with Alabama, Asleep At The Wheel, Hoyt Axton, The Bellamy Brothers, Blood Sweat & Tears, Jimmy Buffett, Roy Clark, Vassar Clements, Commander Cody and The Lost Planet Airmen, Charlie Daniels, Elvin Bishop, Larry Gatlin and The Gatlin Brothers, Arlo Guthrie, Merle Haggard, Emmy Lou Harris, John Hartford, Richie Havens, Chris Hillman, Willie Nelson, New Grass Revival, The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Gary P. Nunn, Pure Prairie League, Leon Redbone, Ricky Skaggs, Ralph Stanley, George Strait, Shoji Tabuchi, Three Dog Night, Mel Tillis, Jerry Jeff Walker, Hank Williams, Jr., and the history making “KISS” concert. The band also is known for launching the musical careers of Vince Gill and David Coe (with Michael Martin Murphy).

Mountain Smoke is made up of seven members: Mountain Smoke is Billy Perry (banjo, mandolin, guitar, and vocals), Tom Bergman (guitar, banjo, and vocals), Kenny Davis (resonator and pedal steel), Rich Dimonico drums and percussion), Gary Howe (fiddle and mandolin), Roger Mashore (bass, guitar and vocals), and Hal Clifford (guitar and vocals).

All Concert Series performances will be in Herod Hall Auditorium at 7:30 p.m.  Season tickets are now available at Holder Drug, the NWOSU Bookstore, Graceful Arts Center, Rialto or by calling (580) 327-8692. Adult season tickets are $40, and student season tickets are $20. Tickets to individual performances will be sold on an “as available” basis at $15 for adults and $10 for students.

The acts to follow Blue Mountain are Bravo Brass Quintet, Dec. 2; Breath of Soul, Feb. 3; and Perpetual Motion, March 10.
The reserved seating section at each concert will be held until five minutes prior to the performance. 

Contact Dr. Irene Messoloras, chair of the Department of Fine Arts, at (580) 327-8692 or, to purchase tickets or pick them up at Holder Drug, the NWOSU Bookstore, Graceful Arts Center or Rialto.            

The Northwest Oklahoma Concert Series is supported by the Alva Tourism Convention Development Committee, the Oklahoma Arts Council, the National Endowment for the Arts and the Charles Morton Share Trust.