Miss Woodward Julia Benbrook wins Cinderella crown

| More

Miss Woodward Julia Benbrook wins Cinderella crown

October 12, 2012

Miss Cinderella 2012
Miss Cinderella 2012
Julia Benbrook

Top 5 and Congeniality Winners
Miss Cinderella Julia Benbrook is pictured with the runners-up contestants and the winner of the congeniality award. (From left) Fourth runner-up Alex Smith, Miss Mooreland; first runner-up Ellen Halliburton, Miss Laverne; Benbrook; second runner-up Jillian Whipple, Miss Waynoka; third runner-up Katelyn Garvie, Miss Burlington; and Miss Congeniality winner Kelsie Kleinschmidt, Miss Tonkawa, are photographed after the crowning of Miss Cinderella 2012.

Julia Benbrook of Woodward High School was crowned Friday as the 61st Miss Cinderella at Northwestern Oklahoma State University during a pageant for high school senior women held in conjunction with the university’s homecoming celebration.

The Miss Cinderella Talent Show was on Thursday with interviews taking place Friday morning, ending with the Pageant on Friday.

First runner-up was Ellen Halliburton, Miss Laverne; second runner-up was Jillian Whipple, Miss Waynoka; the third runner-up award went to Katelyn Garvie, Miss Burlington; and fourth runner-up was Alex Smith, Miss Mooreland.

Kelsie Kleinschmidt, Miss Tonkawa, was voted as Miss Congeniality by her fellow contestants.

Halliburton took home the talent award. She performed a vocal solo to “Something’s Got a Hold on Me.”

Miss Congeniality and talent award winners each receive a one-year room waiver.

Benbrook and the other 20 contestants rode in Northwestern’s homecoming parade at 10 a.m. Saturday.

As Miss Cinderella, Benbrook will receive eight semesters of tuition and a one-year room waiver scholarship at Northwestern-Alva.

For winning the interview portion of the contest, Whipple also will receive a book scholarship.

Each contestant who participates in the Miss Cinderella Pageant automatically receives a one-year tuition scholarship for Northwestern-Alva.

The first and second runners-up will receive six and four semesters of tuition, respectively.

Third and fourth runners-up will receive a one-year room waiver in addition to the tuition scholarship each contestant already receives.