Miss Mooreland wins Cinderella crown

| More

Miss Mooreland wins Cinderella crown

 Miss Cinderella
Kiana Prather, Miss Mooreland, walked away with the title of Miss Cinderella in the 63rd annual Miss Cinderella Pageant at Northwestern Oklahoma State University Friday.
Kiana Prather of Mooreland High School was crowned Friday as the 63rd Miss Cinderella at Northwestern Oklahoma State University during a pageant for high school senior girls held in conjunction with the university’s homecoming celebration.

The Miss Cinderella Talent Show was on Thursday with interviews taking place Friday morning, ending with the Pageant on Friday.

First runner-up was Alma Rios, Miss Buffalo; second runner-up was Shelbi Smithton, Miss Woodward; the third runner-up award went to Cheney Bird, Miss Alva; and fourth runner-up was Mary Shklar, Miss Waynoka.

Shklar was voted as Miss Congeniality by her fellow contestants. As the winner of Miss Congeniality she will receive a one-year room waiver.

Prather took home the interview portion of the contest, as well as the talent award. She performed an instrumental solo to “The Chinese Legend of Butterfly Romance.”

As Miss Cinderella, Prather will receive eight semesters of tuition, a one-year room waiver scholarship at Northwestern-Alva, and for winning the interview portion of the contest, she will receive a book scholarship.

All Miss Cinderella contestants are a part of the annual homecoming parade that takes place Saturday at 10 a.m. on the downtown square.

Each contestant who participates in the Miss Cinderella Pageant automatically receives a one-year tuition scholarship for Northwestern-Alva.

The first and second runners-up will receive six and four semesters of tuition, respectively.

Miss Cinderella Kiana Prather is pictured with the runners-up contestants. (From left) Fourth runner-up and Miss Congeniality Mary Shklar, Miss Waynoka; second runner-up Shelbi Smithton, Miss Woodward; Prather; first runner-up Alma Rios, Miss Buffalo; third runner-up Cheney Bird, Miss Alva.

Third and fourth runners-up will receive a one-year room waiver in addition to the tuition scholarship each contestant already receives.