Jordan Gaskill Earns Miss America Academic Scholarship

| More

Jordan Gaskill Earns Miss America Academic Scholarship

Jordan Gaskill of Waynoka, a junior at Northwestern Oklahoma State University, has been presented the $1,000 Miss State Scholar Award from the Miss America Organization in conjunction with the Miss Oklahoma Pageant held in Tulsa June 4-7.

            Gaskill, who competed in this year’s state pageant as Miss Northwest Passage, received the award at a Kiwanis luncheon in Tulsa on June 2. The scholarship is awarded during state pageants to one woman in each state for academic excellence.

            The scholarship was established in 1998 as part of the Miss America Organization’s initiative to increase scholarship giving at the state and local levels. Candidates are evaluated strictly on academics based on the last two years of their transcripts. Scholarship America has the ability to weight the grades in terms of course content, academic standing of the institution and other factors.

            Gaskill is majoring in health and sports science, and last year competed in the state pageant as Miss Northwestern.

            Northwestern had two other students competing in state contests.

            Ashlynn Frey, Lahoma sophomore, is the current Miss Northwestern. She and Gaskill were in the same competition group and had their interviews with judges on Tuesday, and on-stage question and evening wear on Wednesday. Their preliminary judging in swimsuits was Thursday, and talent presentations on Friday.

            In Saturday's final, Kelsey Cartwright, Miss Keystone Lake, was crowned Miss Oklahoma.

            Eva Woolwine, Ashland, Kan., senior, competed in the Miss Kansas Pageant June 5-7 in Pratt, Kan.

            She presented her talent and had an onstage interview on Thursday, with the swimsuit and evening wear competition and judges’ interview on Friday.

            She was presented with the Jennifer Vannatta Inspiration Award and received $250.

            Emily Deaver, Miss Augusta, was crowned the winner of Miss Kansas.