Jones named CSFL Special Teams Player of the Year; 22 Rangers honored

Alva / Athletics / Football
| More

Jones named CSFL Special Teams Player of the Year; 22 Rangers honored

ALVA, Okla. (11-22-11) – The Northwestern Oklahoma State University football team was well represented late Monday afternoon when the Central States Football League released the 2011 All-Conference teams.

Chris Jones highlighted the Ranger honors as he was named the conference Special Teams Player of the Year, while eight other Rangers picked up first team honors and 14 received Honorable Mentions.

Jones, a native of San Jose, Calif., picked up his award as one of the top returns in the conference. Between kick and punt returns, Jones picked up more than 600 yards, turning a punt for a touchdown on Sept. 24 at Texas College.

He averaged 10.8 yards a punt return this season, more than 2 yards more than the second punt returner in the conference, and was just behind teammate Jared Jackson on kick return average.

Jones was also named to the First Team defensive squad as he led the Rangers in tackles this season with 58, broke up seven pass, intercepted a pass, forced and recovered a fumble.

Joining Jones the All-CSFL Special Teams First Team list is Jackson as a kick returner and punter P.J. Stimson. Jackson returned 14 kicks for an average of 27 yards a return, while Stimson booted 46 punts this season, averaging 37 yards per punt.

A prolific wide-out from Guthrie, Okla., Kent McDonald highlights the First Team offense for the Rangers. McDonald pulled in 915 yards on 58 catches in 2011, finding the end zone on seven occasions.

He was joined by one of the hardest working members of the Ranger offense in Keith Barefield Jr. in the tight end position, as well as Jackson as a First Team running back with 749 yards and nine touchdowns.

Sophomore Peter Brooks was the other Ranger earning First Team honors for his play on the defensive line.

Rangers receiving honorable mentions include: Kyle Jech (quarterback), Jermil Martin (running back), Andrew King (wide receiver), Taylor Hooper (wide receiver), Zach Owen (offensive line), Ray Grubbs (offensive line), Corben Reid (offensive line), Chris Campbell (defensive line), Jaeden Bersche (defensive line), Michael Harmon (linebacker), Michael Ray (defensive back), Traveon Kelly (defensive back), Zenario Shuler (defensive back), Edgar Colmenares (place kicker).

2011 CSFL All-Conference Teams
2011 CSFL Academic All-Conference Teams