Inaugural women's soccer coach Steve Barrows resigns

Alva / Athletics / Soccer
| More

Inaugural women's soccer coach Steve Barrows resigns

ALVA, Okla. - The coach credited with starting the women’s soccer program at Northwestern Oklahoma State university is stepping down.

Steve Barrows, who became the school's inaugural head coach when the program began in 2000, submitted his resignation at the end of the 2011 fall semester. The University is currently conducting a search for his replacement.

"I greatly enjoyed my time at Northwestern,” Barrows said. “I took great honor in representing the players that played for me. I thoroughly enjoyed working for Dr. (Chandler) Mead as a teacher and the athletic directors that we had."

In 1999, Northwestern made the commitment to add to new women’s sports – soccer and softball. In Barrows, the school found a coach with a wealth of knowledge and a love for the university and community.

"Coach Barrows built this program from inception to its present day status," Athletic Director Andy Carter said. "His hard work and dedication will forever be remembered and appreciated by the University. Steve is a high-character individual whose teams represented the university and the town of Alva very well."

Barrows compiled an 82-112-8 record in his 11 seasons. In 2001, just one season after becoming head coach, Barrows led the program’s transition into the powerful Sooner Athletic Conference.

Undaunted, the Rangers sent a message to the league early, going 16-3-2 in 2004 and winning the regular season conference championship. The team was ranked as high as No. 15 nationally and was within a goal of qualifying for the NAIA national tournament.

His leadership was recognized as the conference’s coaches voted him the SAC Coach of the Year.Barrows coached third team All-American forward Sherina Wood and three other first team All-SAC players.

His teams also excelled in the classroom and the program has been consistently recognized for having a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

He served as an active member of the faculty here and was the recipient of the John Sheffield Teacher of the Year award presented by the by the Student Government Association.