Groups recognized during Homecoming awards ceremony

| More

Groups recognized during Homecoming awards ceremony

October 30, 2009

After a whirlwind week of Homecoming activities at Northwestern Oklahoma State University, many awards were given to organizations and schools who participated in the 2009 Homecoming parade “A Century of Ranger Pride.”

Eight bands that performed in the parade received recognition and cash prizes. The placement, school and director are as follows:

• First place junior high Class A - Pioneer-Pleasant Vale Middle School, Sherri Lohmann; second place - Chisholm Middle School, Richard Stallcup.

• First place high school Class A - Bray-Doyle High School, Bryan Pope; second place - Waukomis High School, Brad Mitchell.

• First place Class AA –Seiling High School, Karen Harris; second place - Medicine Lodge (Kan.) Junior/Senior High School, Yvonne Burden.

• First place Class AAA – Hennessey High School, Adam Steuart; second place - Chisholm High School, Randy Johnson.

Many on and off campus organizations worked hard to build floats for this year’s parade. The first, second and third place winners for off-campus, commercial and on-campus, non-profits are as follows:

• Off campus-commercial - first place, Alva State Bank; second place, Community Bank; third place, Central National Bank.

• On campus-non profits – first place, Alpha Sigma Alpha. This organization also received the President’s Plaque. Considered the best overall award, each participant in all categories were eligible for the plaque. Second place went to Delta Zeta, and the third place award went to the Aggie Club.

Alva Head Start received the Spirit Award and will receive a $75 cash prize. The Spirit Award is given to the group who showed the most spirit and best represented the parade’s theme.

Conserving Our Ranger Environment (CORE) sponsored a flower bed decorating contest this year on campus. Winners of the “Have You Made Your Bed” flower contest are as follows:

• First place - Delta Zeta Sorority. The sorority received $50 for winning this contest. Delta Zeta also is the winner of the monthly flower bed contest, “Jack-Your-Lantern.”

• Second place - Alpha Sigma Sorority, $30.

• Third place - CORE, $20.

New to the parade this year was a bicycle decorating contest sponsored by the Northwestern Art Society. Participants could decorate bicycles according to the theme and receive cash prizes. Winners of the 8 to 11 age group are as follows:

• First place, Dru Bryant;

• Second place, Hanna O'Neal;

• Third place, Natascha Adams.

McClayne Jackson won the 5 to 7 age group. First, second and third place winners received $15, $10 and $5, respectively.

Although Homecoming 2009 has come to an end, preparations for Homecoming 2010 are underway, as a Homecoming date will be announced soon.

Visit to see photos from Homecoming activities.