North Central Association-Higher Learning Commission Self-Study


Higher Learning Commission Mark of Affiliation


Northwestern Oklahoma State University provides quality educational and cultural opportunities to learners with diverse needs by cultivating ethical leadership and service, critical thinking and fiscal responsibility.  

Northwestern is a state-assisted, public regional university and a member of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education. The University is governed by the Regional University System of Oklahoma. Northwestern is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association. Additional program accreditation includes the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) for teacher education. The nursing program is accredited by the National League of Nursing (NLN) and is approved by the Oklahoma Board of Nursing. Northwestern's Social Work Program is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE). Northwestern's Division of Business is currently in the candidacy phase seeking additional program accreditation from the Accreditation Council of Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP).

Alva / About Northwestern / NCA-HLC Self-Study

NWOSU Self-Study Report

Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Self-Study 2014


Many individuals at Northwestern have worked hard the past several years to prepare our Self-Study report for the next Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association accreditation review. I am pleased to say the report is finished and beneficial information was uncovered that will help NWOSU continue to be a leader in higher education.

If you would like to review Northwestern's Self-Study report from 2004 please see the following link for more information about the Self-Study.  


Steering Committee Meeting Minutes

| More

Self-Study Informational Blog

  • Self-Study document completed, preparing for visit

    February 12, 2014 

    Dear Northwestern Community,

    It is with great joy that I report to you the Self-Study has been completed and submitted to the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and to our four peer review team members. Thank you to each of you who were involved in this process. Now that the Self-Study has been submitted, the focus will transition to planning for our visit on April 7th, 8th & 9th.

RSS Feed

Steering Committee

  • Dr. Jesse Schroeder, Assistant Professor of Mass Communication; Self-Study Coordinator
  • Dr. Janet Cunningham, President
  • Dr. James Bell, Associate Professor of English
  • Dr. Sheila Brintnall, Professor of Mathematics
  • Tammy Brown, Assistant Professor of Speech
  • Dr. Deena Fisher, Dean of NWOSU Woodward Campus
  • Leah Haines, Director of Assessment & Institutional Effectiveness
  • Susan Jeffries, Director of NWOSU Libraries
  • Dr. Mike Knedler, Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences
  • Dr. Steve Lohmann, Executive Vice President
  • Dr. Tim Maharry, Associate professor of Mathematics
  • Dr. Mary Ellen Nutter, Assistant Professor of Education
  • David Pecha, Vice President for Administration
  • Dr. Dean Scarbrough, Associate professor of Agriculture
  • Jake Streck, English Education, Student-Athlete
  • Gilda Palacio, Biology Student
  • Jennifer George, Early Childhood Education Student
  • Magon Mayhall, Mass Communication student

Subcommittees for 2014 Self-Study