Five inducted into Northwestern English honor society

| More

Five inducted into Northwestern English honor society

October 1, 2009

 Sigma Delta Tau group
Dr. Sandra Petree and Anika Brandt Rohla lead the induction ceremony for the Northwestern Oklahoma State University Sigma Delta Tau English honor society in which Tara Woodmansee, Carissa Meade, Hilario Trejo-Leal, Angela Luthye and Lisa England are now members.
Five Northwestern Oklahoma State University students recently were inducted into the Sigma Delta Tau English honor society.

Tara Woodmansee, Alva junior; Carissa Meade, Ringwood junior; Hilario Trejo-Leal, Mexico City, Mexico, senior; Angela Luthye, Enid senior; and Lisa England, Buffalo sophomore, are now members of this organization.

Anika Brandt Rohla, a 2009 Northwestern graduate who served as president last year, returned to campus for the induction ceremony. Brandt Rohla is now teaching English at Woodward South Middle School.

Sigma Tau Delta is an international honor society designed to provide students with enhanced educational experiences through interest groups, scholarships, professional meetings, and collegial collaboration. With more than 600 active chapters in America, Europe, and the Caribbean, Sigma Tau Delta encourages excellence in all areas of English language and literature and recognizes, through awards and scholarships, significant accomplishments among its undergraduate, graduate, and professional members. Membership is by invitation from the faculty of the English Department.

To learn more about the honor society contact Dr. Sandra Petree, associate professor of English and sponsor of the organization, at (580) 327-8428 or To learn more about the English program and other areas within the English, Foreign Language and Humanities Department, contact its chair, Dr. Shawn Holliday, at (580) 327-8469 or