Education department announces Future Teacher Scholarships

| More

Education department announces Future Teacher Scholarships

The Division of Education at Northwestern Oklahoma State University is now accepting applications for the Future Teachers Scholarships. The Scholarships are available to both new and returning education majors and the application deadline is Thursday, April 30.

To be eligible for the scholarship, the student must be an Oklahoma resident, have a GPA ranking in the top 15 percent of their high school class; or have an ACT or SAT score ranking in the top 15 percent for high school graduates of the same year; or admission to a professional education program at an accredited Oklahoma institution of higher education; or an undergraduate record of outstanding success, as defined by the institution.

Both full-time and part-time students are eligible for the scholarship, but higher priority will be given to full-time students.  Recipients must maintain a GPA of 2.5 or higher and must reapply every academic year.

The Future Teachers Scholarship Program was established by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education as an incentive to encourage the preparation of teachers in critical shortage areas in the public schools of Oklahoma. 

For a full list of requirements and the complete application process, along with the application form contact Natalie Miller, assistant certification officer, at or 580-327-8441.