Business students recognized during annual awards ceremony

| More

Business students recognized during annual awards ceremony

 Delta Mu Delta business honor society
Northwestern Oklahoma State University business students were recently inducted into the Delta Mu Delta honor society.  Receiving a certificate at the ceremony are (from left, back row) Kevin Wilhite, Samantha Soper, Jillian Hobbs, Cheyenne Harper, Drew Fischer, Drew Cunningham, Nichole Chase, Earl Bell, Joni Adkins, Delta Mu Delta representative, and Dr. Steve Palmer, Division of Business chair;  (front row) Teila Mikel, Kelsey Konrade, Fawn Kingcade, Kellcie Skinner, Amanda Hamaker, Emily VanScoy, Mallory Atchley, Stephanie Hamaker.

Students majoring within the Division of Business at Northwestern Oklahoma State University were recognized for receiving scholarships for the 2012-13 year at the annual awards ceremony.

Although some students were unable to attend the ceremony, all recipients and awards received are listed below:


Chase, Woodward senior; Kellcie Skinner, Alva senior; and Emily VanScoy, Enid senior.

OSCPA’S honor Oklahoma’s top accounting students who are selected by their school’s faculty. Universities are allowed to choose two students for the award.

MRS. W.W. STARR BUSINESS SCHOLARSHIP: Earl Bell, Alva senior; and Drew Fischer, Jet senior.

The Mrs. W. W. Starr Business Scholarship was established by the family of the late Mrs. Starr. The award is to be made each year to a business major nominated by a member of the business department faculty. The recipient must be at least a junior, have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and show strong leadership through campus activities.

DARR B. SIMS SCHOLARSHIP: Destrye Keith, Fort Supply senior.

Darr B. Sims attended Northwestern from 1936-1941, and graduated with honors with a major in business administration. This award was created in 1975 by his widow, Mabel Sims. The recipients of this scholarship are chosen by the business faculty.

GEORGE AND GRACE HENDERSON FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP: Jeremy Gutierrez, Hallettsville (Texas) senior.

This scholarship was established in 1994 by the family of George and Grace Henderson. Pioneers of education in Ellis County, the Henderson’s were instrumental in establishing a high school at Bishop in 1923. Realizing the need for additional education, they brought their family to Alva where their four children continued their education at Northwestern State Teachers College. This scholarship is given to a continuing student majoring in business with at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA. Preference is given to applicants who exhibit leadership skills and are active in campus organizations.

THE NORMA JEAN SMITH SCHOLARSHIP: Stephanie Hamaker, Fargo senior.

This endowment was established in 2001 in honor of Norma Jean Smith and her dedication to the students of Northwestern. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to a student majoring in the field of business at Northwestern.


This scholarship was established in 2002 in honor of Helen Vore Sutter and her commitment to Northwestern and young people in northwest Oklahoma. The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to Northwestern students majoring in business or business education.

ROBERT R. BROWN SCHOLARSHIP: Clansy Harzman, Alva senior.

Adair Brown and his family established this scholarship in 1997. This scholarship is given in Robert R. Brown’s name. This scholarship is awarded to a continuing Northwestern student with a minimum CGPA of 2.7. First preference is given to business majors, with second preference going to economics majors. The recipient must have resided in Oklahoma, Kansas or Colorado and must possess a positive attitude about the future and be able to express the same. Applicants must exhibit leadership skills and be active in campus organizations.
Students also were inducted into the Delta Mu Delta honor society during the awards ceremony.

Inductees include Mallory Atchley; Enid junior; Chaunce Carrico, Woodward junior; Drew Cunningham, Alva senior; Tiffany Diefenbach, Cherokee senior; Cheyenne Harper, Chattanooga junior; Jillian Hobbs, Lamont senior; Fawn Kingcade, Alva senior; Cindy Madsen, Beaver senior; Patricia Mitchell, Moore senior; Teila Mikel, Enid senior; Michael Morales, Alva junior; Samantha Soper, Medford junior; and Kevin Wilhite, Fairmont senior; along with Bell, Chase, Fischer, Hamaker, Harzman, Keith, Konrade, Skinner and VanScoy.

Also recognized were members of Phi Beta Lambda (PBL). PBL is a college organization to further leadership among the business community. Students can get started in this organization in high school under the organization name Future Business Leaders of America. Officers of PBL include Jillian Hobbs, president; Mekayla Weber, Mustang sophomore, Alva vice president; Brett Bingham, Waukomis junior, Enid vice president; Nichole Chase, Woodward senior, Woodward vice president; Nicole Stone, Enid senior, secretary; Chaunce Carrico, Woodward junior, treasurer; Jamey Alvarez-Braxton, La Quinta (Calif.) junior; PR/reporter.

Northwestern’s business student advisory council is made up of Atchley, Cunningham, Amanda Hamaker, Stephanie Hamaker, Taylor Marsh, Mansfield (Texas) senior; Nicole Stone, Enid senior; and Raymond Williamson, Enid senior.

Cunningham and Fernanda Tomazini, San Paulo (Brazil) senior, received Who’s Who recognition.