Northwestern kicking off scholarship drive in Alva Feb. 17

| More

Northwestern kicking off scholarship drive in Alva Feb. 17

Northwestern Foundation Release
February 9, 2009

Northwestern Oklahoma State University and the Northwestern Foundation, Inc. will kick off the Alva Scholarship Drive on Tuesday, Feb. 17, and it will run through March 10. On-Campus and Off-Campus Chairpersons, team captains, and team members will meet on Tuesday to finalize their lists and get ready for another successful year.

The purpose of the scholarship drive is to help continuing students receive scholarships at Northwestern after their freshman year. By donating money through the Millennium Club, community members can share Northwestern with future generations. The mission of the Millennium Club is to provide approximately $1.25 million annually, when completely funded, to deserving students, with a focus on providing financial support to continuing students.

“The success of the annual scholarship drive is critical to the continued enrollment growth of Northwestern,” said Dr. Janet Cunningham, president of Northwestern. “Continuing students need the financial assistance provided by the drive, especially in challenging times. Pledges to the scholarship drive are a reinvestment back into our community and in Northwestern.”

In tough economic times, Arden Chaffee, Mayor of Alva and Off-Campus Chairperson for the Alva Drive, looks to a quote by Warren Buffet in describing the attitudes of donors.

“We simply attempt to be fearful when others are greedy and to be greedy only when others are fearful.”

Chaffee said, “Traditional, non-traditional, and veteran students alike can help put this economy back on track, and the strength of our Foundation is the cornerstone of their success. We're asking this community to invest, not in the past, but in the future.”

The On-Campus Chairperson is Dr. James Bowen and the On-Campus Team Captains are Julie Barraza, Denise Bay, Tammy Brown, Mary Brune, Angelia Case, Dr. Cheryl Evans, Dr. Deena Fisher, Dr. Tim Maharry, Dr. Chandler Mead, Natalie Miller, Dr. Venkata Moorthy, Dr. Dean Scarborough, Nicole Towns and Marietta Washington.

The Off-Campus Chairpersons are Arden and Nicki Chaffee and Dr. Mike Knedler. This year’s fundraising teams are Arden Chaffee and Kathy Earnest, Dr. Troy and Liz Smith, Paul Corr and Dr. Tim Maharry, Barbara Rockenbach and Dr. Sheila Brintnall, Karen Koehn and Marilyn Bouziden, Johnny Jones and Jessie Schroeder, Jason Bryant and Rick Cunningham, David Noland and Eric Schmaltz, Deb Kline and Dr. Janet Cunningham, Rocky Ferrell and Dr. Mike Knedler, Rod Gourley and David Pecha, Pat Headlee and Dr. Sandra Petree, Mac and Jerrie McKinley, Don Thomas and Lizabeth Richey, Helen Thiesing and Skeeter Bird, Dr. Mike Meier and Dr. Steve Lohmann, Ed Sutter and Teresa Sutter, Deb Corr and Dr. Carole McKenzie, Sarita Simon and Patrick Harris, and Thelma Crouch and Carla Turner.