Five women to be honored at AAUW Women's Recognition Ceremony; Linda Edmondson to be guest speaker

| More

Five women to be honored at AAUW Women's Recognition Ceremony; Linda Edmondson to be guest speaker

March 8, 2010


            The American Association of University Women (AAUW) will host its Eighth Annual Women’s Recognition Ceremony and Dinner honoring women leaders in northwest Oklahoma Thursday, March 25, at 6:30 p.m. in the Ballroom of the Student Center on the campus of Northwestern Oklahoma State University.

Tickets for the event are $15 and must be purchased by March 11 from any AAUW member or by contacting Dr. Cindy Pfeifer-Hill at (580) 327-8563, (580) 327-4943 or at Checks can be made out to AAUW Women of Recognition 2010. 

Five women from northwest Oklahoma will be recognized and honored for their accomplishments and contributions to their communities, churches, businesses and families at the banquet.

The following winners and their categories are:

Katherine Garlough was chosen for the Education Award. She has been employed as the Director of Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness at Northwestern for the last two years. 

Yvonne L. Thilsted will represent the Community Development Award. She is a locally licensed insurance agent.

Ling-Yu Alice Kan from the Music Department at Northwestern was chosen for the Cultural Development Award.  She has been on the music faculty since August 2006.

Mary Margaret Miller, who is chairman of Hopeton State Bank, is the recipient of the Economic Development Award. She has held that position since 1990.

The final award for outstanding “Woman of the Year,” will be revealed at the awards ceremony. 

Some of the past  “Woman of the Year” winners are: 2003 - Anna Belle Shafer; 2004 - Yvonne Carmichael-Riley; 2005 -Charla Parker; 2006 -  Dale Brown; 2007 - Joy Sherman; 2008 -  Dr. Carole McKenzie; and 2009 - Evelyn Kamas.

Linda EdmondsonThe night’s featured guest speaker is Linda Edmondson speaking on “Wit and Wisdom in Front of the Fridge.”

Edmondson is a community volunteer and advocate. She has served on the Attorney General’s Task Force to Improve End of Life Care and as a consultant for the Oklahoma State Board of Social Work Licensure. Previously, she was co-founder and executive director of the Oklahoma Association for Healthcare Ethics.

She serves on community boards including the Oklahoma Hospice Foundation, the Governor’s Hospice Advisory Board, and the Center for Poets and Writers at Oklahoma State University-Tulsa. While living in Muskogee she helped found the Muskogee Cooperative Ministries, the Community Pantry and the Literacy Council.

Edmondson has been honored as a distinguished alumna of the University of Oklahoma College of Arts and Sciences. The Oklahoma Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers also named her as the 2004 “Social Worker of the Year.” She has a master’s degree in social work from OU.

She and her husband, Attorney General Drew Edmondson, have two children. Mary Edmondson Ross and her husband Mike live in Arlington, Va., with their twins Catherine and Andrew. Robert Edmondson and his wife Andrea live in Oklahoma City.

This evening’s dinner will be catered by Chartwell’s. Dr. Deena Fisher, Northwestern-Woodward dean, will emcee the event. The musical entertainment for the evening will be Lauren Blubaugh.