Alva / Athletics / Baseball
| More


WILLIAMS AND THOMAS SELECTED TO ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMNorthwestern Oklahoma State University placed two players on the 2010 All-Sooner Athletic Conference Baseball Team including outfielder Chris Williams and starting pitcher Garry Thomas. Williams received first-team honors for a second consecutive season, while Thomas was honored a second-team pitcher.

Williams, a senior from Vadalia, La., was selected this season as an outfielder and made the first-team all-conference team last year as a designated hitter. He finished the year hitting .373 with 11 doubles and 14 home runs. Williams drove in 50 runs, scored 52 times and held a .727 slugging percentage.  

Thomas, a junior hailing from Pine Bluff, Ark., was chosen as one of four pitchers as second-team all-conference. Thomas posted the best record on the mound for the Rangers with an 8-2 overall record. He posted a 5.45 earned run average and struck out a team best 77 batters. Thomas threw 67.2 innings and appeared in 17 games, throwing three complete games, including one shutout.

Lubbock Christian won the regular season Sooner Athletic Conference championship and took home top All-Conference honors and four first-team All-SAC selections

Catcher Joe Staley of LCU is the Sooner Athletic Conference Player of the Year. Staley, a junior from Celina, Texas, batted .454 with a dozen home runs 68 RBI and a .741 slugging percentage. Defensively, he committed one error in 299 chances and earned the SAC Gold Glove at catcher.

LCU's Nathan Blackwood is Coach of the Year after guiding the Chaps to the regular season title and a 43-13 record.

The First Team includes Staley, Oklahoma City catcher Chad Carman, Southern Nazarene first baseman Shain Stoner, LCU second baseman Richard Bohlken, Wayland Baptist third baseman Kevin Hennessey, SNU shortstop Nick Spears, and OCU infielder Steve Vitale.

First-Team outfielders are Adam Bies of SNU, Anthony Lopez of Oklahoma Baptist, Chris Williams of Northwestern Oklahoma State and Pedro Gomez of WBU.

Bam Davis of Oklahoma Baptist is the First-Team designated hitter.

The All-SAC pitching staff includes Williams of OCU, Brent Robison of OBU, Grant Cosby of Rogers State, Frank Corolla of LCU and reliever Hunter Scott of LCU.

The Second-Team consists of OBU catcher Victor Manzano, Mid-America Christian catcher Adrian Bravo-Carmona, LCU first baseman Doug Kroll, SNU second baseman Derek Glenn, OBU third baseman Billy Jarka, OCU shortstop Kirk Walker, USAO infielder Regulo Moy, LCU outfielders J.J. Muse and Rafael Thomas, St. Gregory's outfielder Landin Boler, OCU outfielder Mark Purser, RSU designated hitter Zach Hamby, USAO pitcher Nate Hammons, Northwestern pitcher Garry Thomas, WBU pitcher Marcus Limon, SNU pitcher Bryan Bingham and RSU reliever Jordan Clark.

The Gold Glove team included Hammons at pitcher and Purser in right field along with Oklahoma City's Garrett Regan at first base, Brian Fisher at second and Kirk walker at short, RSU's Colton West at third base and Tyler Harold in center field and Oklahoma Christian's Dustin Andrews in left.

The Rangers rounded out the season with a 35-22 overall record under the second-year leadership of head coach Ryan Bay.

2010 Sooner Athletic All-Conference Teams