Alva / Athletics / Women's Basketball
| More


D'Shanna ButlerFour Northwestern Lady Ranger basketball players were honored by the Sooner Athletic Conference as they were named to the all-conference teams. D’Shanna Butler, Claudia Vazquez, Emily Gilbert and Kelli Krows all were selected to the teams.


D’Shanna Butler topped the list for the Lady Rangers receiving second team all-conference. Butler, a 5-7 senior guard from Broken Bow, Okla., has been a four-year starter for the lady Rangers. She ranks seventh on Northwestern’s Lady Rangers’ all-time scoring list with 1,149 points. Butler led the lady Rangers in assists (87), steals (66), rebounds (166) and points-per-game (12.1) for the 2008-2009 season.


Claudia Vazquez, a 6-1 sophomore forward from Tonkawa, was selected as honorable mention. Vazquez led the Lady Rangers in blocked shots (16) and added 19 assists and 27 steals. She was third in minutes played (611).


Emily Gilbert, a 6-0 senior forward from Cache, Okla. and Kelli Krows, a 5-7 guard from Seiling, Okla., were selected as academic all-conference.


2008-09 All-Sooner Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Team


Player of the Year: Taujhnae Travis, Oklahoma Baptist

Coach of the Year: Lori Carter, Southern Nazarene

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Holly Hardin, Oklahoma City

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Rose Ouma, Wayland Baptist

Freshman of the Year: Logan Martin, Southern Nazarene

Defensive Player of the Year: Rose Ouma, Wayland Baptist

Sportsmanship Award: Jordan Hampton, Lubbock Christian


First Team All-SAC

Taujhnae Travis Oklahoma Baptist

Sierra Lovorn, Lubbock Christian

Holly Hardin, Oklahoma City

Jordan Hampton, Lubbock Christian

Logan Martin, Southern Nazarene

Lana Keith, Southern Nazarene


Second Team All-SAC

Rose Ouma, Wayland Baptist

Natasha Hogg, Oklahoma Baptist

Charite Lewis, USAO

D’Shanna Butler, Northwestern Oklahoma State

Chelsea Ledbetter, Oklahoma City

Ashley Taylor, John Brown


Third-Team All-SAC

Jennifer Jupin, Oklahoma Baptist

Azzie Knox, Rogers State

Hillary Duncan, Oklahoma Christian

Ivaney Marquez, USAO

Karina Trindade, Mid-America Christian

Kinzie Didier, Southern Nazarene


Honorable Mention

Alex Williams, Wayland Baptist

Brittney Kennedy, Oklahoma Christian

Ashley Coggins, Lubbock Christian

Laura Duncan, Oklahoma City

Ashley Harrell, Oklahoma Baptist

Afeisha Noel, Oklahoma Baptist

Breezy Martin, Oklahoma City

Katie Rice, Rogers State

Kailan DeCamp, Oklahoma Christian

Claudia Vazquez, Northwestern Oklahoma State

Chontaye Walter, Oklahoma City

Jessica Howard, Wayland Baptist

Hunter Peterson, Rogers State

Brittni Brown, Southern Nazarene

Tiphani Eaves, Mid-America Christian

Erika Ferrell, Oklahoma City


Academic All-Conference

Leslie Beaty, Science & Arts Oklahoma

Jasmine Brown, Oklahoma Baptist

Cressi Bryant, Oklahoma Christian

Lisa Chenoweth, Oklahoma Christian

Kailan DeCamp, Oklahoma Christian

Kinzie Didier, Southern Nazarene

Laura Duncan, Oklahoma City

Sasha Ferguson, Science & Arts Oklahoma

Jordan Findley, Oklahoma Christian

Jamie Floyd, Mid-America Christian

Emily Gilbert, Northwestern

Lindsey Gipson, Oklahoma Christian

April Hale, Mid-America Christian

Jordan Hampton, Lubbock Christian

Charlotte Heron, Oklahoma Christian

Lacy Hill, Wayland Baptist

Jessica Howard, Wayland Baptist

Edite Kresa, Wayland Baptist

Kelli Krows, Northwestern

Lauren Langston, Southern Nazarene

Chelsea Ledbetter, Oklahoma City

Sierra Lovorn, Lubbock Christian

Treasure McCoy, Mid-America Christian

Haley Myers, Oklahoma Christian

Hannah Owen, Rogers State

Tasha Parker, Rogers State

Devin Sewell, Oklahoma Christian

Autumn Thompson, Rogers State

Amber Vogts, John Brown

Brittany White, Oklahoma Baptist