2014 Outstanding Seniors, other awards announced

| More

2014 Outstanding Seniors, other awards announced

NWOSU Foundation Release

Nine Northwestern Oklahoma State University seniors are among the award recipients at this year’s Spring Reunion Day Awards Ceremony, April 26, at 5:15 p.m. in the Student Center Ranger Room on the Alva campus.

A committee selected Drew Cunningham, Drew Fischer, Macy Gibson, Sapana Kadel, Gilda Palacio, Janelle Przybylski, Audrey Richmond, Carmen Sander, and Jana Washington as 2014 Outstanding Seniors.

To apply, December 2013 or May 2014 graduating seniors were required to have a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5, with at least 60 credit hours at Northwestern, be involved in campus and/or community activities, show promise of future achievement and never have been subject to academic or disciplinary action. The award, sponsored by the Northwestern Foundation and Student Government Association, includes a plaque and gift card.

Outstanding Seniors

Drew CunninghamDrew Cunningham

Cunningham of Alva, will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Business Administration. Cunningham was elected president of Delta Mu Delta and is a member of Phi Beta Lambda. He also has earned acceptance in Northwestern’s prestigious leadership programs: Northwestern Scholar Ambassadors, President’s Leadership Class and Leadership Northwestern. Drew has been accepted to the University of Oklahoma Law School this fall.

Drew FischerDrew Fischer

Fischer, from Jet, graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree in December 2013. While at Northwestern, he was a member of the President’s Leadership Class, vice president of the Red & Black Scroll Honor Society and represented Northwestern as one of its Scholar Ambassadors.

Macy GibsonMacy Gibson

Gibson, a native of Afton, graduated magna cum laude in December 2013, with a major in biology and a minor in chemistry. In addition to her strong academic performance, Gibson competed on the Northwestern women’s basketball team all four years, and was named as a Daktronics Scholar Athlete for the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics. She was active in several campus organizations, including Chemistry Club and the Medical Services Club.

Sapana KadelSapana Kadel

Kadel will graduate this May with a Bachelor of Science in biology. She has been named to the President’s Honor Roll and is the recipient of both the Foster Science scholarship and the Crain Science scholarship. A native of Nepal, Kadel has been active in the Northwestern International Student Association, and the Chemistry and Medical Sciences clubs. Since 2011, she has been a tutor in Academic Success to help students with science and mathematics.

Gilda PalacioGilda Palacio

Palacio, from Woodward, will graduate this May with a Bachelor of Science degree in biology, with a minor in chemistry. Palacio was a member of the President’s Leadership Class. She has been active in the Student Government Organization, holding several leadership positions. Palacio’s campus involvement includes Chemistry Club, Rangers Excelling at Leadership, Medical Services Club, and several others. She has extensively volunteered in the community. And in 2012, the student body elected her Homecoming Queen.

Janelle_PrzybylskiJanelle Przybylski

Przybylski, from Medford, will graduate this May with a Bachelor of Science in biology, with a minor in mathematics. Przybylski was inducted in the Red and Black Scroll Honor Society in 2011, and also received the Valedictorian, Freshmen Academic, Crain, David Parker and Fellers Family scholarships. She has been active in the Chemistry Club and the Math Club. Przybylski also has been a volunteer judge for the BEST (Boosting Engineering, Science and Technology) Robotics competition.

Audrey RichmondAudrey Richmond

Richmond, a Cherokee native, graduated as magna cum laude in December 2013 with a Bachelor of Science degree in early childhood education. In the same year, Richmond received Alfalfa County Retired Educators Outstanding Education Student scholarship, which is based on a senior recipient’s academic record and campus involvement. She also was a student athlete who started for the Ranger women’s basketball team.

Carmen SanderCarmen Sander

Sander, from Seiling, will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Science in biology, with a minor in chemistry. She was selected to the President’s Leadership Class, and held several collegiate officer positions, including the Medical Sciences Club, as a Northwestern Scholar Ambassador, and the Red and Black Scroll Honor Society. Sander earned several scholarships, including the Vernon McNally Pre-Med, David Parker Memorial, Randy Murrow Scholarship and the NIGH Academy. She was Miss Northwestern in 2011. This fall, she plans to attend the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center to receive her Masters in Health Sciences as a Physician Associate.

Jana WashingtonJana Washington

Washington, an Alva native, will graduate in May with a Bachelor of Science in nursing. Jana is a member of the Oklahoma Nursing Student Association and the Student Nurse’s Association. She has been active in a number of campus organizations, including University Singers, University Chorale, Medical Science Club, Biology Club, Chemistry Club and Phi Delta. She was a member of the President’s Leadership Class.

Other Award Recipients

Sapana Kadel will be awarded the T.C. Carter Award, presented to the graduating seniors with the highest grade point average.

Other Northwestern students and faculty to be recognized include: Anjeela Shrestha, receiving the John F. Kennedy Award; April Swinnea-Ogg, receiving the Dr. Joe Dollins Merit Award; Nathan Jones, receiving the John Ted Meier Student Teaching Award; Cameron Allen, Rhonda Fosnight and Katelyn James, receiving the Psychology Student of the Year Award; Matthew Blundell, receiving the Sabin and Pearl Percefull Scholarship Award; Kylie Pethoud receiving the Newman Civic Fellow Award; Angela Bryan receiving the deSERVING Ranger Award; and Matt Adair, receiving the John Sheffield Teacher of the Year Award.