Robyn Walker awarded Randy Murrow Scholarship

| More

Robyn Walker awarded Randy Murrow Scholarship

April 8, 2010

Robyn Jane Walker, Alva sophomore, has been awarded the Randy Murrow Memorial Scholarship at Northwestern Oklahoma State University. Walker has been chosen based on her academic achievements, participation in leadership and student activities. She is an elementary education major.

Currently, Walker is the president of Student Oklahoma Education Association (SOEA). Through this organization she has participated in two Outreach to Teach projects. She also has been to spring and national conventions to represent Northwestern and the SOEA organization on campus.

She attends Student Government Association meetings and plans to apply for a seat in the senate.

Walker also is involved with New Beginnings and has been a member of the Concert Choir. She has given two speeches on campus regarding domestic abuse.

The Randy Murrow Memorial Scholarship was established following his untimely death shortly after his graduation from Northwestern in 1969. Murrow served as the Student Senate president from 1967-1969. Funds were given in his name from Phi Lambda Chi fraternity, various campus organizations, and voluntary gifts from students, faculty, former students, family and friends.
Other members of Murrow’s family have been memorialized with the scholarship, including his mother, Dolores Murrow, and his grandparents, A.L. “Lute” and Mildred Murrow (Lute represented Woods and Woodward counties in the Oklahoma House of Representatives representing Woods and Woodward counties from 1956 to 1966) and Sam and Oneita Riggs.

Northwestern’s Student Government Association scholarship committee chooses a recipient based on his or her responses on the application. Undergraduate students who are actively involved in campus activities are eligible for the scholarship.