Fifteen selected for President's Leadership Class

| More

Fifteen selected for President's Leadership Class

May 21, 2010

Fifteen outstanding high school seniors from Oklahoma and Kansas have been selected to participate in the President’s Leadership Class (PLC) during their freshman year at Northwestern Oklahoma State University.

The PLC is a leadership development program led by Dr. Janet Cunningham, university president. The program seeks to develop leadership skills in students who have compiled exemplary records of academic success and participation in high school activities.

Graduates of the program are expected to assume leadership roles on campus during their time at Northwestern.

Selection to the PLC is through a competitive process including applications, letter of recommendation and an on-campus interview

A total of 97 applications for the program were received this spring, the largest number ever.

“The interest in the President’s Leadership Class is at an all-time high and demonstrates that Northwestern is making great strides in becoming a first-choice destination for the best and brightest high school graduates,” Cunningham said. “The increasing number of applicants also makes the selection process more difficult. Choosing 15 participants out a field of nearly 100 outstanding students was a daunting task.”

Cunningham was pleased that most of the students who applied and were not selected still plan to attend Northwestern in the fall and many will participate in the university’s Honors Program.

Students selected for the President’s Leadership Class are:

• Shelby Oldham, Medicine Lodge (Kan.) High School
• Carmen Sander, Seiling High School
• Jake Streck, Kremlin-Hillsdale High School
• Dusta Kimzey, Cheyenne High School
• James Floyd, Miami High School
• Drew Cunningham, Alva High School
• Gilda Palacio, Woodward High School
• Cassie Stephens, Buffalo High School
• Shanae Joachims, Alva High School
• Drew Fischer, Timberlake High School
• Jillian Hobbs, Deer Creek-Lamont High School
• Kohannah Hess, Cherokee High School
• Baylei Zehr, South Gray (Kan.) High School
• Tylar Mead, Alva High School
• Seth Garlitz, Edmond Memorial High School.

Members of the PLC will begin their experiences on Aug. 2 with a four-day trip to Boston, Mass.