15 Rangers Named CSFL All-Conference; Williams, Guillory and Lee Named Player of the Year

Alva / Athletics / Football
| More

15 Rangers Named CSFL All-Conference; Williams, Guillory and Lee Named Player of the Year

Korey Williams, Nate Guillory and Rocky Lee highlighted 15 Northwestern Oklahoma State University football players that were chosen for the 2010 Central States Football League All-Conference teams. Northwestern sealed up 12 spots on the first-team, while five positions were claimed by Rangers on the second-team.Korey Williams

Williams, a four-year starter from New Orleans, was named to the first-team for the third consecutive season, being named the Co-Offensive Player of the Year. Williams shared the honor with Southern Nazarene quarterback Brady Wardlaw. 

The senior receiver rewrote Northwestern’s receiving records, owning most receptions for a game (14 vs. Texas College), season (81) and career (214). He also broke the career receiving mark with 2,784 yards and broke the career record for most touchdown passes caught with 25.

This season, Williams was ranked third in the NAIA in receptions and was 17th in total yards with 882. He scored nine receiving touchdowns, while averaging 10.9 yards per catch and 80.2 yards per game. He also rushed 33 times for 191 yards and a score, while completing 5-of-6 passes for 67 yards and two touchdowns.

Rocky LeeLee, a three-year linebacker from Jonesboro, Ga., was selected as the CSFL Defensive Player of the Year. He led Northwestern in tackles with 99, including 50 unassisted stops. Lee had 18.5 tackles for loss for 60.5 lost yards, ranking him third in the nation. He had three sacks, two interception returns for 34 yards and three pass breakups. Lee posted a season-best 15 tackles over Bacone College. It was the third consecutive season he was chosen for the CSFL first-team. 

Guillory was voted as the Special Teams Player of the Year and a first-team running back after being named the 2009 Offensive Player of the Year. The two-year senior running back from Houston, Tex., broke the school record for most rushing yards in a career, setting it at 2,858. He also set a new mark for rushing attempts in a career with 431 attempts. Nate Guillory

Guillory was ranked high in the NAIA in several categories including; fifth in total rushing (1,179 yards), eighth in all-purpose yards (1,720), 10th in rushing yards per game (107.2) and 12th in scoring (96 TD’s) and in kickoff return yards per attempt (26.9).

In his second season as a Ranger, he rushed 195 times for an average of 6.0 yards per carry and 107.2 yards per game. He also had 12 catches for 56 yards. Guillory scored 16 touchdowns, 14 rushing and two on kickoff returns.

Joining Guillory and Williams on the first-team offense, was sophomore running back Jared Jackson, tight end Keith Barefield Jr., offensive linemen Ray Grubbs and Adam Aguirre.

Jackson, a sophomore from Moore, was second in rushing with 567 yards. He rushed 137 times for six touchdowns and averaged 51.5 yards per game.

Barefield Jr., a junior out of Victoria, Tex., hauled in 15 passes for 198 yards. He averaged 13.2 yards per catch and scored twice.

Grubbs, a sophomore from Kenner, La. and Aguirre, a senior hailing from Hennessey, rounded out the Rangers’ first-team offensive selections.

In addition to Lee making the first-team defense, Peter Brooks and Brock Wardlaw were also named to the team.

A native of Fort Worth, Tex., Brooks played all 11 games for the Rangers and finished fourth on the team in tackles. He wrapped up 47 tackles and was second in tackles for loss with 16.5 for 56 yards. The freshman lineman also had three sacks, two pass breakups, a forced fumble and a blocked kick.

Wardlaw, a sophomore defensive back from Okeene, had four interceptions for 169 yards, including three that were returned for touchdowns. He had 33 tackles, 3.5 tackles for loss, two pass breakups and a fumble recovery.

Three Rangers were selected as first-team special teams, as Edgar Colmenares, Chris Jones and Guillory were all selected.

Colmenares, a freshman kicker from Pauls Valley, made the squad as a place kicker. He was ranked 16th in the nation in kick scoring per game with 6.5 points/game. He hit nine field goals with a season-long of 39 yards. Colmenares was second on the team in scoring, adding 44 PAT’s. 

Jones, a native of San Jose, Calif., was voted the first-team punt returner. He returned 12 punts for 40 yards.

In addition to Special Teams Player of the Year and first-team running back, Guillory was also named first-team kickoff returner. He ran back 18 kicks, including two for scores, while averaging 26.9 yards per return. 

Five Rangers were named second-team all-conference. Quarterback Kyle Jech and wide receiver Kent McDonald were named to the offense, while lineman Josh Lange-Casillas, linebacker Richard Gunnels and defensive back Chris Jones were chosen for the defense.

Jech, the sophomore signal caller from Kingfisher, passed for 1,874 yards and 19 touchdowns. He broke two records, including; most touchdown passes in a game (6 vs. Texas College), taking down a record that stood since 1965, and most touchdown passes in a career with 37.

Jech was 165-of-278 (59 percent) and threw for an average of 170.4 yards per game. He had an efficiency rating of 127.7.

McDonald, a junior from Guthrie, was the Rangers’ second leading receiver. He caught 26 passes for 426 yards and five touchdowns. McDonald averaged 42.6 yards per game and had a team-best 16.4 yards per catch.

A senior from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., Lange-Casillas picked up 25 tackles on the season, with 7.5 tackles for loss. He led the team in sacks with five, had three pass breakups, two fumble recoveries and a forced fumble.

Gunnels, a senior out of Lovelady, Tex., sewed up 51 tackles, ranking him third on the team. He posted 32 solo stops, seven tackles for loss and had an interception for a 28-yard return. Gunnels also defended three passes, recovered a fumble and forced a fumble.

Jones, who was also first-team punt returner, finished the season with 29 tackles. He had two interceptions for 79 yards and four pass breakups.

Northwestern had 12 student-athletes on the All-Conference Academic team including: Blaze Blackburn, Rob Davis, Geoff Elliott, Dalton Holliman, Taylor Hooper, Kyle Jech, Matt Lebeda, Ryan Markes, Brock Wardlaw, Korey Williams, Cody Womack and Cheoungsik Woo.

2010 Central States Football League All-Conference Teams